![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cfOXJHkFxwc
__________________
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it. ![]() Last edited by dumbref; Thu Mar 05, 2009 at 02:26pm. Reason: Added link |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
You might suggest your interpreter review NF: 2.3.5.b which indicates a defensive player may also: (b) "Push, pull or ward off an opponent in an actual attempt to get at the runner or a loose ball if such contact is not pass interference, a personal foul or illegal use of the hands.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
NF: 2.3.5.b, specifically authorizes a defensive player to "play through" an offensive player who is "obstructing" him from doing his primary job of stopping an oposing "runner". Although 9.2 (Illegal use of the Hands & Holding) applies to all players, the primary focus of these prohibitions is targeted at offensive players, because "blocking" is essentially an offensive action. (I understand there are exceptions that apply specifically to certain dedensive actions, but let's not muddy the water). If the defense was prohibited from "playing through" an opponent to take action against a runner, offensive teams could encircle a runner and escort him down the length of the field. Once the offensive player takes ANY position between a defensive player and a runner, he is a potential blocker (no matter what he's doing, or might intend to do, which makes him an obstacle that the defense has every right to (legally) eliminate. |
|
|||
2-3-5b says he can play through as long as he doesn't commit the foul of IUH. 9-2-3d defines IUH as contacting a receiver who's no longer a potential blocker. 9.2.3.A says it's IUH to contact a receiver who's no longer a potential blocker OR (not AND) who is not attempting to block. If A2 is not looking at B1 then A2 is not attempting to block. If B1 flattens A2 he has committed IUH by contacting a receiver who is not attempting to block. Any answer other than that by you IS muddied water.
|
|
|||
Quote:
In this play is A2: A potential blocker? Yes, by his position between the defender and the runner he is in position to impede B's path to the runner if he decides to. or Attempting to block B? No, he's looking away from B and probably has no intention of blocking B. Since, as you stated, it's an "OR" question and not an "AND" condition; as long as either answer is "Yes", B can legal contact and play through receiver A2. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
ASA Rule 8-5-H EFFECT Example | Welpe | Softball | 7 | Thu Jun 19, 2008 07:23pm |
when does the look-back-rule go into effect after a hit batter | BuggBob | Softball | 17 | Wed May 07, 2008 01:01pm |
NCAA BOO effect | CecilOne | Softball | 10 | Tue Mar 07, 2006 09:35am |
Force Still In Effect? | chuckfan1 | Baseball | 17 | Thu Nov 10, 2005 06:54pm |
Did It effect the Play? | PeteBooth | Baseball | 10 | Thu Feb 15, 2001 05:11pm |