![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
now on the ARs
7-1-3-XII
A30, lined up legally as a back, starts in motion legally. He then turns so that he still is legally in motion but is facing his line of scrimmage using a “side-step” motion. At the snap, A30 is bent slightly forward at the waist and is either continuing his “side-step” motion or is “marking time” in place. RULING: Legal. What is "marking time"???? |
|
|||
|
I would say that "Marking time" is an expression more used in America than England.
The English term would be "Running on the spot". His legs are still going up and down, but he isn't actually moving anywhere. Like when soldiers are marching on the parade ground and then they stop going forward, but their legs are still making the marching action.
__________________
Sorry Death, you lose.... It was Professor Plum! |
|
|||
|
I'm back
this time is not about the translation but just a doubt that popped in my head today.
So interlocking legs is forbidden, right? That works for scrimmage kick formation as well or you can interlock legs for a field goal try ou punt? |
|
|||
|
Rule 7-1-3-b-2
The player on each side of and next to the snapper may lock legs with the snapper, but any other lineman must have both feet outside the outside foot of the player next to him when the ball is snapped. This Rule applies to all plays that starts with a snap, therefore it includes any scrimmage kick plays (punts, FG, PAT kick). Even though the Rule applies to running or passing plays, it is most likely that it will be on a scrimmage kick play that the offense will break this Rule. By locking legs before the snap, they get an advantage to stop the defense getting through the gaps to block the kick. Certainly in my officiating career, I have only ever seen this foul on a scrimmage kick play and maybe only 3 or 4 times in 20+ years. So Referees and Umpires should start looking for it before the ball is snapped, so they are ready to drop their flag when the ball is snapped. It is a live ball foul. Remember not to flag it if it is the snapper and the guy on either side of him, they are allowed to lock legs. Some well drilled teams will (after the snap) retreat into a blocking position so that players have their legs interlocked. That is not a foul. That is why you must see whether the legs are interlocked before the snap. You can't flag something you see 1 or 2 seconds after the snap. Hope this helps....
__________________
Sorry Death, you lose.... It was Professor Plum! |
|
|||
|
No worries dvasques, always happy to help. Helps keep me thinking about football ready for our season here in Britain which starts shortly.
When you get to thinking about mechanics, then get in touch. The manual that is used in Britain and nine other European countries and by EFAF for European international games is pretty good. It covers all size crews from 7 man down to 3 man and was once described by Referee magazine as "the most comprehensive amatuer football officiating manual we've ever seen".
__________________
Sorry Death, you lose.... It was Professor Plum! |
|
|||
|
where can I get one of those, Flake?
I downloaded one from BAFA website (I think) once and translated most of it. This one I got is very good but I still gotta get back into it to make sure I understand it fully so I can start teaching it down here |
|
|||
|
Going into studying the rules with zys we're finding a whole bunch more doubts on the book... for starters
Rule 2-7-1-c states: c. A valid or invalid fair catch signal deprives the receiving team of the opportunity to advance the ball, and the ball is declared dead at the spot of the catch or recovery or at the spot of the signal if the catch precedes the signal (Rule 6-5-1-a Exception). What does "or at the spot of the signal if the catch precedes the signal" means? |
|
|||
|
It means: wherever the player was when he signaled, on condition that the catch happened before the signal.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Play example, Team A punts, Team B's punt returner catches the kick and starts running. Either because he hopes to confuse the kick coverage team or because he is a 16 year old kid, he gives a fair catch signal as he is running. Officials should get on the whistles and shut things down as ball was dead as soon as the signal was given. The catch was before the signal but the signal causes ball to become dead. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Under NCAA rules, there is no penalty other than ball becoming dead at the spot it was when the signal was given. If the returner gives the signal and continues to advance, then you could enforce the dead ball delay penalty but I would not do that unless the covering officials had noticed what transpired and tried to shut things down but the returner kept running
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| AAU Issues | AZ_REF | Basketball | 20 | Mon Apr 09, 2007 10:09pm |
| Money issues | Ohioref3 | Football | 5 | Fri Nov 11, 2005 05:26pm |
| 2 issues | PSU213 | Football | 2 | Sat Sep 18, 2004 02:02pm |
| Two issues | MOFFICIAL | Basketball | 5 | Fri Jan 09, 2004 07:45pm |
| Translation Please | APHP | Basketball | 11 | Tue Jan 29, 2002 09:35am |