The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 19, 2009, 05:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajmc View Post
...A receiver can secure possession of a ball while in the air, and forward progress will be considered the farthest point the ball has progressed, towards the opponent's goal line while possessed...
I'm guessing you are talking about being contacted by a defender. If he is in the EZ and jumps towards the field of play securing the ball in the EZ but landing at the one, he won't score unless he was driven out to the one by the defender. If he lands at the one on his own, he is not given FP (touchdown) but rather will have the ball at his one.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 19, 2009, 06:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Yes I was.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 20, 2009, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdf5 View Post
I'm guessing you are talking about being contacted by a defender. If he is in the EZ and jumps towards the field of play securing the ball in the EZ but landing at the one, he won't score unless he was driven out to the one by the defender.
No, it's a touchdown. Once he touches the ground in bounds, his having possessed the ball in the end zone is recognized in all codes AFAIK.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 20, 2009, 02:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
No, it's a touchdown. Once he touches the ground in bounds, his having possessed the ball in the end zone is recognized in all codes AFAIK.
His forward progress is only given if he's contacted by a defender. Forward progress is the "end of advancement of the ball in a runner’s possession". He doesn't have possession until he makes a catch and he doesn't make a catch until he returns to the ground inbounds.

How would you rule this one: A1 is just inside the EZ and while running back towards the goal line leaps into the air. He grasps the ball while over the EZ but lands outside the EZ at the one. He then tries to make a backward pass to A2 but instead B2 catches the backward pass and runs the ball back for a TD.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 20, 2009, 03:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdf5 View Post
His forward progress is only given if he's contacted by a defender. Forward progress is the "end of advancement of the ball in a runner’s possession". He doesn't have possession until he makes a catch and he doesn't make a catch until he returns to the ground inbounds.
This is not a case of forward progress, but of possession of a live ball beyond the opposing goal line. The catch is ruled once the foot hits the ground, but possession is retroactive to when the ball was actually grasped by the airborne player.

Quote:
How would you rule this one: A1 is just inside the EZ and while running back towards the goal line leaps into the air. He grasps the ball while over the EZ but lands outside the EZ at the one. He then tries to make a backward pass to A2 but instead B2 catches the backward pass and runs the ball back for a TD.
The ball was dead once he landed, and the touchdown given.

However, if he hadn't touched the ground before getting rid of the ball, it would be a touchdown for the other team because the original pass was completed by B2.

Robert
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 20, 2009, 04:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 622
Robert, my argument is based on the following rules:

2-34-1...A ball in player possession is a live ball held or controlled by a player after it has been handed or snapped to him, or after he has caught or recovered it.

2-4-1...A catch is the act of establishing player possession of a live ball which is in flight, and first contacting the ground inbounds or being contacted by an opponent in such a way that he is prevented from returning to the ground inbounds while maintaining possession of the ball.

8-2...Possession of a live ball in the opponent’s end zone is always a touchdown.

The only rule I can't find is the one that says "possession is retroactive to when the ball was actually grasped by the airborne player". Please give me the rule number for that statement.

Last edited by kdf5; Tue Jan 20, 2009 at 04:25pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 20, 2009, 04:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 566
Is the rule different in the NFL? Because in NFHS an airborne receiver's forward progress is the furthest point of advance after possession is established if contacted by a defender. So an airborne receiver who catches a ball over the end zone but lands at the one without defender contact has not scored a touchdown.
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 20, 2009, 04:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: kdf5...you're correct for Federation. Unless contacted and driven back into the field of play, an airborne receiver securing control of a ball in flight above the opponent's end zone, must complete his catch (i.e. touch the ground inbounds) with the ball in the opponent's end zone in order for a TD to be ruled. Otherwise, where he initially controlled the pass is not significant. But if he is contacted above the opponent's end zone and driven back so that his first contact is with the ground in the field of play, forward progress is ruled and a TD is awarded.

NCAA rules are different. In NCAA, if the airborne receiver over the opponent's end zone is contacted by an opponent and driven to the ground in the field of play, he is awarded a TD. If, however, he lands on his feet, the ball remains alive and no TD is awarded on the basis of forward progress.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 20, 2009, 05:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob M. View Post
REPLY: kdf5...you're correct for Federation. Unless contacted and driven back into the field of play, an airborne receiver securing control of a ball in flight above the opponent's end zone, must complete his catch (i.e. touch the ground inbounds) with the ball in the opponent's end zone in order for a TD to be ruled. Otherwise, where he initially controlled the pass is not significant. But if he is contacted above the opponent's end zone and driven back so that his first contact is with the ground in the field of play, forward progress is ruled and a TD is awarded.

NCAA rules are different. In NCAA, if the airborne receiver over the opponent's end zone is contacted by an opponent and driven to the ground in the field of play, he is awarded a TD. If, however, he lands on his feet, the ball remains alive and no TD is awarded on the basis of forward progress.
Bob...what's your interpretation of my situation (assuming NFHS) where the defender does make contact with the airborne receiver in the end zone and pushes him back but the receiver gets away? As we've discussed at clinics and association meetings, forward progress doesn't apply in this case because the runner got free.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 20, 2009, 04:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdf5 View Post
Robert, my argument is based on the following rules:

2-34-1...A ball in player possession is a live ball held or controlled by a player after it has been handed or snapped to him, or after he has caught or recovered it.

2-4-1...A catch is the act of establishing player possession of a live ball which is in flight, and first contacting the ground inbounds or being contacted by an opponent in such a way that he is prevented from returning to the ground inbounds while maintaining possession of the ball.

8-2...Possession of a live ball in the opponent’s end zone is always a touchdown.

The only rule I can't find is the one that says "possession is retroactive to when the ball was actually grasped by the airborne player". Please give me the rule number for that statement.
I disagree with a point RG makes. If the receiver goes up to make a catch while in the end zone, but his own momentum causes him to land in the field of play, he isn't given forward progress for a TD. According to Rule 2-15-2: "When an airborne player makes a catch, forward progress is the furthest point of advancement after he possesses the ball if contacted by a defender.

The case book supports this as well (Case 2.15.1): It is first and 10 for A at B's 12-yard line. A1 sprints near the end line and then buttonhooks. He jumps and possesses a forward pass while in the air above the end zone. (a) A1's momentum carries him back into the field of play and he lands and is downed at the 1 yard line; or (b) while in the air in the end zone, he is contacted by B1 and he then lands and is downed on B's 2-yard line. Ruling: In (a), it is A's ball first and goal at B's 1-yard line. In (b), it is a touchdown if the covering official judges the contact by B1 is the cause of A1 coming down at the 2-yard line, instead of in the end zone.

In discussing this case, we've also talked about the situation where the defender contacts the receiver and pushes him back into the field of play but the receiver is able to get away without being tackled. Because he is no longer engaged with the defender, forward progress does not apply and he must get back into the end zone to score.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Forward Progress dumbref Football 5 Fri Sep 05, 2008 01:38pm
Forward Progress AZ_REF Football 15 Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:13pm
FORWARD PROGRESS MRIGUY Football 3 Tue Sep 28, 2004 12:43pm
Clarification of 'Forward Progress' WyMike Football 1 Wed Sep 08, 2004 12:55pm
Forward Progress JMN Football 11 Sun Jan 26, 2003 12:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1