![]() |
|
|
|||
You better rethink that or are you not going to allow the defense to penetrate the neutral zone until the QB in shotgun formation touches the ball?
It's really pretty simple, if the snap is done correctly it is not possible for the defense to slap the ball out of the snappers hand. Therefore, you must either have a snap infraction because the snap was not done properly or you have encroachment because the defense was in the zone prior to the snap. Last edited by Mike L; Thu Oct 23, 2008 at 05:53pm. |
|
|||
John those are different fouls referencing different articles of that rule.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
Same signal for helping runner and interlocked blocking, different penalty.
__________________
"And I'm not just some fan, I've refereed football and basketball in addition to all the baseball I've umpired. I've never made a call that horrible in my life in any sport."---Greatest. Official. Ever. |
|
|||
If you look on the signal chart, signal 44 states both of those infractions. Signal 19 says false start or illegal formation.
http://i38.tinypic.com/iyzoqx.jpg Last edited by bigjohn; Fri Oct 24, 2008 at 07:17am. |
|
|||
Quote:
You say that false start and snap infraction are the same thing because they have the same signal and same penalty. They're not. Signal 44 is for both helping the runner and interlocking blocking, only they're not the same thing (despite having the same signal) and they carry different penalties. You're wrong to say that a false start and a snap infraction are the same thing because they have the same signal and therefore the same penalty. Snap infraction is not false start.
__________________
"And I'm not just some fan, I've refereed football and basketball in addition to all the baseball I've umpired. I've never made a call that horrible in my life in any sport."---Greatest. Official. Ever. |
|
|||
Yes, the penalty is the same but it is a different foul.
ART. 7 . . . After the ball is marked ready for play and before the snap begins, no false start shall be made by any A player. It is a false start if: a. A shift or feigned charge simulates action at the snap. b. Any act is clearly intended to cause B to encroach. c. Any A player on his line between the snapper and the player on the end of his line, after having placed a hand(s) on or near the ground, moves his hand(s) or makes any quick movement. I don't see snap infraction listed as a reason for a false start. This is a snap infraction: ART. 2 . . . The snapper may lift the ball for lateral rotation but may not rotate end-for-end or change the location or fail to keep the long axis of the ball at right angles to the line of scrimmage. ART. 3 . . . Following the ready-for-play and after touching the ball, the snapper shall not: a. Remove both hands from the ball. b. Make any movement that simulates a snap. c. Fail to clearly pause before the snap. d. Following adjustment, lift or move the ball other than in a legal snap. |
|
|||
Those things can all cause B to encroach so they are false starts as well as snap infractions. Same thing. Same penalty same signal!
Point is if B hinders the snap or causes a false start it is USC. Using 9-5-1d as rule. |
|
|||
Quote:
Here is a list of fouls which use signal #19. 5. Free-kick infraction........................................ .................................................. .......................6-1-2 7-19 7. Free kick out of bounds............................................ .................................................. ............6-1-8 19 9. Snap infraction .................................................. .................................................. ...............7-1-2, 3 7-19 10. False Start .................................................. .................................................. ..........................7-1-7 7-19 11. Illegal formation .................................................. .................................................. .........7-2-1, 2, 3 19 12. Less than seven players on A’s line or numbering violation......................................... ..........7-2-5 19 14. Planned loose-ball infraction........................................ .................................................. ........7-2-8 19 25. Attendant illegally on field .................................................. .................................................. ..9-8-2 19 |
|
|||
John, you do know that a snap infraction is a foul on the offense, right?
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell! |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() LinkBack to this Thread: https://forum.officiating.com/football/49484-slapping-snap.html
|
||||
Posted By | For | Type | Date | |
Can a nose guard swipe at the ball/center's arm when the ball is snapped? | This thread | Refback | Mon Sep 08, 2014 09:31am | |
Interfering with the Snap | This thread | Refback | Sat Aug 25, 2012 07:46am | |
Can a nose guard swipe at the ball/center's arm when the ball is snapped? | This thread | Refback | Sun Apr 15, 2012 08:06pm |
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Judgment calls on pre-snap and at-the-snap fouls??? | ChickenOfNC | Football | 18 | Tue Jan 09, 2007 01:44pm |
Slapping Backboard | Stripes33 | Basketball | 41 | Sun Jul 31, 2005 11:27am |
SLAPPING THE BACKBOARD | OFISHE8 | Basketball | 4 | Sat Dec 18, 2004 09:12am |
slapping of the backboard | timharris | Basketball | 2 | Tue Dec 07, 2004 11:09pm |