![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
You wouldn't flag a team for running a fake field goal and having a tee on the field, would you? The tee was just as much of a prop in this situation as a fake field goal. Rule 1-1-6 is intended to be used in the bizarre situations where there truly is no rule support at all. Such as a dog running onto the field during a play and stealing the football. There is plenty of rules coverage for kicks, legal and illegal equipment so I believe it is a true stretch to say there is no rule coverage for this play. Quote:
Teams have been free kicking the ball directly off of the ground for years and the Fed has not seen fit to specifically outlaw this act yet. I cannot see calling this USC. That is not within the spirit of the rules.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
|
Just so we're clear, I have no problem with kicking the ball while laying on the ground next to a tee. My beef is when a kicker walks up to the ball, as if to place it on the tee, and then gives it a little boot. That action is what I'm calling USC.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
How about putting the unused tee on the ground in a side zone of the field? How about several? Gee, ya never know when you might need to place kick from any of various spots, so why not have a tee there for convenience, huh? Robert |
|
|||
|
How about preventive officiating? Don't you guys have an official handing the ball to the kicker? When he places the ball on the ground next to the tee, tell him to put it on the tee. Once a spot is designated he must kick from that spot, so therefore he shouldn't be attempting to put the ball on the tee. If he says he is going to kick it off the ground, tell him to remove the tee from the field. Problem solved.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
A different free kick question
I asked this on another board but want to get a few more views....
K's team lines up for a free kick,after the ready for play is given the kicker approaches the ball but for some reason decides not to kick it.the kicker and only the kicker goes beyond the free kick line he then retreats behind the ball and then kicks the ball, No other K player breaks the free-kick line and the kick is before the 25 second clock expires legal? I know there are rules that allow the holder and the kicker to go beyond the free kick line but I cant find any casebook plays that deals with the above question... what do you guys think? Last edited by Gmoore; Thu Oct 16, 2008 at 10:21pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Robert |
|
|||
|
NF:2.24.5 describing a "kickoff" limits the type of kick to be used as either a "drop kick" or a "place kick".
Is the ball able to be recovered by K after the dropkick in the air? It isn't on a placekick unless grounded but a dropkick has bounced off the ground but not after being kicked. Just curious. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Free Kick Question | dumbref | Football | 36 | Fri Nov 04, 2005 02:35pm |
| free kick question | kentref | Football | 12 | Sun Aug 21, 2005 06:28pm |
| Free Kick | nelson_28602 | Football | 2 | Mon Oct 27, 2003 10:48pm |
| Free Kick | nelson_28602 | Football | 7 | Thu Oct 16, 2003 10:52pm |
| Free Kick Question | MN BB Ref | Football | 22 | Sun Oct 12, 2003 10:03pm |