The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 27, 2008, 11:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 622
All 11 players stop for one second, which is a shift. Then two players go in motion, legally, since all players had stopped for one second. Both are moving at the snap. That is illegal motion. Had one of the two in motion stopped moving and the other kept going to the snap, then you would have had an illegal shift because if the one stopped moving then the other would have had to stop too for one second.

Illegal Motion:

7-2-7...Only one A player may be in motion at the snap and then only if such motion is not toward his opponent’s goal line......

Illegal shift:

7-2-6...After a huddle or shift all 11 players of A shall come to an absolute stop and shall remain stationary simultaneously without movement of hands, feet, head or body for at least one second before the snap
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 28, 2008, 06:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdf5 View Post
All 11 players stop for one second, which is a shift. Then two players go in motion, legally, since all players had stopped for one second. Both are moving at the snap. That is illegal motion. Had one of the two in motion stopped moving and the other kept going to the snap, then you would have had an illegal shift because if the one stopped moving then the other would have had to stop too for one second.

Illegal Motion:

7-2-7...Only one A player may be in motion at the snap and then only if such motion is not toward his opponent’s goal line......
Or

Illegal shift:

7-2-6...After a huddle or shift all 11 players of A shall come to an absolute stop and shall remain stationary simultaneously without movement of hands, feet, head or body for at least one second before the snap
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 28, 2008, 07:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdf5 View Post
All 11 players stop for one second, which is a shift. Then two players go in motion, legally, since all players had stopped for one second. Both are moving at the snap. That is illegal motion. Had one of the two in motion stopped moving and the other kept going to the snap, then you would have had an illegal shift because if the one stopped moving then the other would have had to stop too for one second.
kdf5, I don't think this is correct. Think of it this way: if you were designing a play, would you put 2 players in motion? Of course not: that can't ever be legal as a motion play. So it isn't: when 2 players or more are moving it's a shift, and if they don't come set it's an illegal shift.

With one player in motion, you have the possibility of legal motion. If he does something wrong (moves toward the LOS, for instance), then the motion becomes illegal motion.

The fouls here are based on the idea that whatever the team is doing starts out legal, and if they screw it up it's illegal. So having two players moving at the snap would have to be an illegal shift.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 28, 2008, 08:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
kdf5, I don't think this is correct. Think of it this way: if you were designing a play, would you put 2 players in motion? Of course not: that can't ever be legal as a motion play. So it isn't: when 2 players or more are moving it's a shift, and if they don't come set it's an illegal shift.

With one player in motion, you have the possibility of legal motion. If he does something wrong (moves toward the LOS, for instance), then the motion becomes illegal motion.

The fouls here are based on the idea that whatever the team is doing starts out legal, and if they screw it up it's illegal. So having two players moving at the snap would have to be an illegal shift.
Sorry, mbyron and waltjp, but it is correct. Two men moving at the snap can't be an illegal shift because an illegal shift could only be called if one of the two stopped moving, or shifted (2-39...A shift is the action of one or more offensive players who, after a huddle or after taking set positions, move to a new set position before the ensuing snap.), which in the original play, didn't happen. A shift happens once a player stops moving. Once any player shifts, then they all have to shift (stop moving). Walt, you claim this is a an illegal shift and highlight the part about all 11 players must come to a stop, which is correct, BUT after a shift and after at least one second of everyone remaining motionless after that shift, someone then can go in motion and be in motion at the snap. Note that 7-2-7 says it can only be ONE player. This is from Bob M's article: Motion vs. Shift:

PLAY: Set backs A10 and A32 mistakenly both go in motion on the QB’s signal. Their motion is parallel to the line of scrimmage. The ball is snapped (a) while both are still moving, or (b) after A10 stops, realizing that something’s wrong, while A32 continues with his motion. RULING: In (a) Team A is guilty of illegal motion. They have two players moving at the snap. [Note: this is a foul that a lot of referees mistakenly call an illegal shift.] In (b) A is guilty of an illegal shift. Once A10 stops, he’s completed a shift, which requires all eleven offensive players—including A32—to be set for at least one second.

http://home.comcast.net/~minnmo/foot...-newFormat.doc

Last edited by kdf5; Sun Sep 28, 2008 at 10:15am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 28, 2008, 08:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdf5 View Post
Sorry, mbyron and waltjp, but it is correct. Two men moving at the snap can't be an illegal shift because an illegal shift could only be called if one of the two stopped moving, or shifted (2-39...A shift is the action of one or more offensive players who, after a huddle or after taking set positions, move to a new set position before the ensuing snap.), which in the original play, didn't happen. A shift happens once a player stops moving. Once any player shifts, then they all have to shift (stop moving). Walt, you claim this is a an illegal shift and highlight the part about all 11 players must come to a stop, which is correct, BUT after a shift and after at least one second of everyone remaining motionless after that shift, someone then can go in motion and be in motion at the snap. Note that 7-2-7 says it can only be ONE player. This is from Bob M's article: Motion vs. Shift:

PLAY: Set backs A10 and A32 mistakenly both go in motion on the QB’s signal. Their motion is parallel to the line of scrimmage. The ball is snapped (a) while both are still moving, or (b) after A10 stops, realizing that something’s wrong, while A32 continues with his motion. RULING: In (a) Team A is guilty of illegal motion. They have two players moving at the snap. [Note: this is a foul that a lot of referees mistakenly call an illegal shift.] In (b) A is guilty of an illegal shift. Once A10 stops, he’s completed a shift, which requires all eleven offensive players—including A32—to be set for at least one second.

http://home.comcast.net/~minnmo/foot...-newFormat.doc
kd, I'm not getting into a pissing match with you over this. Call it as you wish.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 28, 2008, 10:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 622
Take is easy Walt. I posted Bob's article and you can read it for yourself.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 29, 2008, 07:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdf5 View Post
Take is easy Walt. I posted Bob's article and you can read it for yourself.
I read Bob's article, and it makes sense. I defer.

kdf5, your explanation needs work. What I found persuasive in Bob's piece was the idea that motion does not become a shift until at least one of the players sets. So if neither of two players moving sets before the snap, it's not a shift. If one (or both) of them sets, it's now a shift.

I was also intrigued by the rarely called illegal shifts involving the QB coming up under center while the motion man is moving. Good stuff!
__________________
Cheers,
mb

Last edited by mbyron; Mon Sep 29, 2008 at 07:24am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 29, 2008, 07:29am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
How one says something is often more important than what someone says. You would be amazed at what you can tell/get from people by your delivery method!
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 29, 2008, 08:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
I read Bob's article, and it makes sense. I defer.

kdf5, your explanation needs work. What I found persuasive in Bob's piece was the idea that motion does not become a shift until at least one of the players sets. So if neither of two players moving sets before the snap, it's not a shift. If one (or both) of them sets, it's now a shift.

I was also intrigued by the rarely called illegal shifts involving the QB coming up under center while the motion man is moving. Good stuff!
If by "needs work" you mean you took offense to what I wrote then I apologize. I meant no offense to anyone. If the explanation was close but not quite spot on, it was because it was early in the morn when I wrote it.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2008, 09:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdf5 View Post
Sorry, mbyron and waltjp, but it is correct. Two men moving at the snap can't be an illegal shift because an illegal shift could only be called if one of the two stopped moving, or shifted (2-39...A shift is the action of one or more offensive players who, after a huddle or after taking set positions, move to a new set position before the ensuing snap.), which in the original play, didn't happen. A shift happens once a player stops moving. Once any player shifts, then they all have to shift (stop moving). Walt, you claim this is a an illegal shift and highlight the part about all 11 players must come to a stop, which is correct, BUT after a shift and after at least one second of everyone remaining motionless after that shift, someone then can go in motion and be in motion at the snap. Note that 7-2-7 says it can only be ONE player. This is from Bob M's article: Motion vs. Shift:

PLAY: Set backs A10 and A32 mistakenly both go in motion on the QB’s signal. Their motion is parallel to the line of scrimmage. The ball is snapped (a) while both are still moving, or (b) after A10 stops, realizing that something’s wrong, while A32 continues with his motion. RULING: In (a) Team A is guilty of illegal motion. They have two players moving at the snap. [Note: this is a foul that a lot of referees mistakenly call an illegal shift.] In (b) A is guilty of an illegal shift. Once A10 stops, he’s completed a shift, which requires all eleven offensive players—including A32—to be set for at least one second.

http://home.comcast.net/~minnmo/foot...-newFormat.doc
Nobody has more respect for Bob M.'s opinions than I. On this one I happen to disagree. IMHO a legal shift must be completed before one man can go in motion - therefore an illegal shift. But it's not worth making a big deal out of it. The results are pretty much the same.
__________________
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2008, 11:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by dumbref View Post
Nobody has more respect for Bob M.'s opinions than I. On this one I happen to disagree. IMHO a legal shift must be completed before one man can go in motion - therefore an illegal shift. But it's not worth making a big deal out of it. The results are pretty much the same.
REPLY: You're right that it's just a technicality. But...

NF 7-2-7:
"ART. 7 . . . Only one A player may be in motion at the snap and then only if such motion is not toward his opponent’s goal line."

...and...

"PENALTY: Illegal formation (Arts. 1, 2, 3) – (S19); illegal snap (Art. 4) – (S7- 19); illegal numbering (Art. 5) – (S19); illegal shift (Art. 6) – (S20); illegal motion (Art. 7) – (S20); planned loose-ball infraction (Art. 8) – (S19) – 5 yards."
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2008, 12:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob M. View Post
REPLY: You're right that it's just a technicality. But...

NF 7-2-7:
"ART. 7 . . . Only one A player may be in motion at the snap and then only if such motion is not toward his opponent’s goal line."

...and...

"PENALTY: Illegal formation (Arts. 1, 2, 3) – (S19); illegal snap (Art. 4) – (S7- 19); illegal numbering (Art. 5) – (S19); illegal shift (Art. 6) – (S20); illegal motion (Art. 7) – (S20); planned loose-ball infraction (Art. 8) – (S19) – 5 yards."
Bob,

How do you pronounce potato? Don't make me type 7-2-6 and all the summary penalties and highlight the words … let’s call the whole thing off! Great artical BTW!
__________________
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

Last edited by dumbref; Wed Oct 01, 2008 at 12:52pm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2008, 11:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by dumbref View Post
Nobody has more respect for Bob M.'s opinions than I. On this one I happen to disagree. IMHO a legal shift must be completed before one man can go in motion - therefore an illegal shift. But it's not worth making a big deal out of it. The results are pretty much the same.
Did you read Bob M.'s piece? With 2 men in motion, it's not a shift until one of them sets. THEN it's a shift, and an illegal one if the other fails to set before the snap.

Merely having 2 men in motion is not by itself a shift, and thus it cannot be an illegal shift. But it IS motion, and thus illegal motion if they're both still moving at the snap.

Bob also mentions in the piece that the point is a technicality, since it's likely to be flagged and enforced identically, no matter what it's called.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Illegal shift, or not? Bullycon Football 19 Wed Sep 03, 2008 05:50pm
Illegal shift question Smiley Football 9 Thu Oct 05, 2006 08:22pm
Illegal Shift? fballrefinwa Football 2 Sun Sep 10, 2006 11:34am
Mixed Interp: Illegal Motion / Shift ljudge Football 7 Mon Nov 14, 2005 11:12am
Illegal Motion or Illegal Shift Simbio Football 11 Fri Oct 31, 2003 08:50pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1