The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 13, 2007, 09:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 60
Passes while in punt formation question--

Question about numbering exception-

A is in scrimmage punt formation and is using the exception to the numbering requirement. (Which means less than 5 players numbered 50-70 on the line)
>
Number 80 is lined up as third player from center. However, Number 87 is a wide out and lined up on the line. Making #80 ineligible pass receiver. Before the snap #87 moves off the line making #80 the last player on the scrimmage line.
>
Is #80 an eligible pass reciever?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 13, 2007, 10:08am
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Yes, he is.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 13, 2007, 10:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 415
No he would not be eligible. Case book 7.2.5 D. ""Team A sets in a scrimmage-kick formation...Number 33 is positioned as an interior lineman between the ends as an exception to the numbering requirement. A shifts and Number 33 assumes a position on the end of the line..." Ruling - "Number 33 remains ineligible."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 13, 2007, 10:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 223
Sorry, MJT, he isn't.
7.5.b exception:

"Art. 5... Player numbering requirements include:
a. At the snap, at least seven A players shall be on their line of scrimmage.
b. At the snap, at least five A players on the line of scrimmage must be numbered 50-79. B players may be anywhere on or behind the line.
EXCEPTION: When A sets or shifts into a scrimmage-kick formation any A player numbered 1 to 49 or 80 to 99 may take the position of any A player numbered 50 to 79. A player in the game under this exception must assume an initial position on his line of scrimmage between the ends and he remains an ineligible forward-pass receiver during that down unless the pass is touched by B (7-5-6b). "
__________________
Steve
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 13, 2007, 10:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 60
I believe I may have missed that in the past.
I can see where the umpire MUST be sure of the numbering. I assume that it is his responsiblity to make sure of the numbers and be responsible for making the call.
If I read this correctly-
If the play that is listed above is an exception to the numbering then once ineligible then always ineligible (except when b touches)
But if the number requirment is met, then that play makes #80 eligible.

Last edited by kfo9494; Mon Aug 13, 2007 at 10:41am.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 13, 2007, 11:06am
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Duh! Knew it and blew it!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 13, 2007, 11:21am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by kfo9494
Question about numbering exception

A is in scrimmage punt formation and is using the exception to the numbering requirement. (Which means less than 5 players numbered 50-70 on the line).

Number 80 is lined up as third player from center. However, Number 87 is a wide out and lined up on the line. Making #80 ineligible pass receiver. Before the snap #87 moves off the line making #80 the last player on the scrimmage line. Is #80 an eligible pass reciever?
CANADIAN RULING:

Yes.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 13, 2007, 09:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 51
Maybe I misread, but the OP said that #80 was third from the center, otherwise, Center, Guard, Tackle, #80. So as long as there were another guard and tackle, he's eligible since #87 shifted. Five on the line of 50-79.
That's why HTBT is always easier!
__________________
"My purpose on life was to not make people happy, it is to make the correct call!!"
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 13, 2007, 09:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by a4caster
Maybe I misread, but the OP said that #80 was third from the center, otherwise, Center, Guard, Tackle, #80. So as long as there were another guard and tackle, he's eligible since #87 shifted. Five on the line of 50-79.
That's why HTBT is always easier!
A player in the game under this exception must assume an initial position on his line of scrimmage between the ends and he remains an ineligible forward-pass receiver during that down unless the pass is touched by B (7-5-6b). "

No.

Once he took a position on the line inside a receiver, he is and remains inelligible.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 13, 2007, 10:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 51
OK, hitting self in head. Helps to read the entire question the tenth time to read that small part "less than 5 numbered"
Been up almost 60 hours in the past three days. Maybe need some sleep!
__________________
"My purpose on life was to not make people happy, it is to make the correct call!!"
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 15, 2007, 03:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 381
Hope this comes out straight.
K has nine on the LOS, four with 50-79 and five with eligible receiver numbers.
89 80 66 60 29 58 72 85 33

Are 80, 29, and 85 all ineligible, or only one of them? If only one of them, how do we determine which one?

If 89 and 33 back off before the entire team is set (assume the up-back is moving from side to side of the formation giving blocking assignments), are 80 and 85 now eligible?

Replace 85 with 79. They now have five players on the line numbered 50-79. If 89 and 33 back off the line, is 80 now eligible?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 15, 2007, 04:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue37
Hope this comes out straight.
K has nine on the LOS, four with 50-79 and five with eligible receiver numbers.
89 80 66 60 29 58 72 85 33

Are 80, 29, and 85 all ineligible, or only one of them? If only one of them, how do we determine which one?
All of these players are ineligible.

Quote:
If 89 and 33 back off before the entire team is set (assume the up-back is moving from side to side of the formation giving blocking assignments), are 80 and 85 now eligible?
Neither are eligible because team A is still using the numbering exception and do not have 5 or more players numbered 50-79 while in scrimmage kick formation.

Quote:
Replace 85 with 79. They now have five players on the line numbered 50-79. If 89 and 33 back off the line, is 80 now eligible?
Yes 80 is eligible. My interpretation is that they are not using the numbering exception while in scrimmage kick formation because they do have 5 or more players numbered 50-79 on the line.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2007, 12:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: This is a question I've had for years and I've never seen it actually answered. Oh yes...many have had opinions, but I've never seen a definitive answer. Assume a legal scrimmage kick formation and consider this line formation (dots used for spacing purposes):

INITIAL FORMATION:
.........80 56 50 67 73 87 89
....61


AFTER SHIFT:
....61 80 56 50 67 73 87
....................................89

We know that #80 is ineligible since he is covered by #61 at the snap. the BIG question is this: Is #87 eligible?

It's my opinion that he is. The standard numbering rule says that Team A must have five numbered 50-79 on the ljne at the snap. They do. Therefore there is no numbering exception in force on this play. Since there's no numbering exception, you can't place additional eligiblility restrictions on Team A. Thus, #89's shift makes #87 eligible.

The rule quote that Ref in SoCA mentioned ("A player in the game under this exception must assume an initial position on his line of scrimmage between the ends and he remains an ineligible forward-pass receiver during that down unless the pass is touched by B (7-5-6b).") is absolutely true, but only if Team A is operating under the numbering exception (note, it even uses the words "under this exception"). Since A had five numbered 50-79 on the line at the snap there IS no exception so they can't be operating under it.

I'm sure we'll hear others' opinions. I just offered to share mine.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2007, 12:35pm
I Bleed Crimson
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 477
Now, I understand the casebook indicates the shift does not make somebody eligible.

But what I don't understand is why. Eligibility is determined at the snap, and there can be as many shifts as A wants. And the exception in 7.2.5a says:
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2007 NFHS Rules 7.2.5b
A player in the game under this exception must assume an initial position on his line of scrimmage between the ends and he remains an ineligible forward-pass receiver during that down unless the pass is touched by B.
The relevant part is "must assume an initial position on his line of scrimmage between the ends."

The question is what is meant by "initial position." I've always thought it meant at the snap. For example, before a shift (assume a scrimmage kick formation in both):

80 23 57 33 58 62 41

After the shift:

23 57 33 58 62 41 80

That is, 80 shifts to the other end of the line.

I understand the casebook says that 23 remains ineligible. But if the "initial position" is established as they first lineup, and they lined up wrong, how can they correct this? What if 80 lined up on the wrong side? Do they all re-huddle then lineup again? Or are they forced to call a timeout?

Thus I think that a fair interpretation would be the position, at the snap, is the "initial position", and determines eligibility.

How did the casebook come up with this interpretation?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2007, 12:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 415
Bob, The play seems to be covered in Case Book 7.2.5 Situation D. I'll change the numbers in the case to match your numbering.

"Team A sets in a scrimmage-kick formation with Number 79 in the deep position as the potential kicker. Number 87 is positioned as an interior lineman between the ends as an exception to the numbering requirement. A shifts and Number 87 assumes a position on the end of the line. Number 61 is now on the other end of the line and number 80, who started on the end, is now an interior lineman...RULING...Number 87 remains ineligible..."

Although the rule sets the exception at the snap, the Case Book sets it based on the initial position.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Punt Formation HL Clippenchain Football 15 Mon Aug 13, 2007 10:13pm
Illegal Formation - NFL Rule Question GPC2 Football 8 Tue Mar 20, 2007 06:43pm
Long Passes Foul Question? bballplayer Basketball 4 Tue Nov 09, 2004 04:24pm
formation question Trips Special Football 5 Tue Oct 05, 2004 01:46pm
Punt question MOFFICIAL Football 2 Sun Oct 03, 2004 10:35am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1