The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2007, 10:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike L
Personally, I take the term "initial position" to mean just that, the initial position assumed prior to shifts/motions.
How far would you take that? Suppose they lined up:

..............50.........51.........52...........5 3...........80.............54
........46........47.....................48....... ......................49

and #10 ten yards behind the snapper. And then they shifted into:

......46.....50..........51.........52.....48..... 53..........80
.....................47........................... ........................49.....54

with #10 still ten yards behind the snapper. The way they first lined up was an illegal formation just for not having 7 on the line, although they did have five numbered 50-79. Does 80 become eligible after the shift, or does the way they lined up first "not count" as "initial position" because they couldn't've legally snapped the ball from it?

Robert
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 24, 2007, 08:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
Your initial formation is not using the numbering exception. The numbering exception has nothing to do with having a legal formation as to 7 on the line, it only takes effect when there are fewer than 5 50-79 players in a scrimmage kick formation. Those requirements were met in the initial formation. After the shift 80 was uncovered and became eligible and the number exception went into effect. If K shifts again and the numbering exception is still being used then, say 48 moves back and 49 moves up, then 48 still isn't eligible. But if 49 moves up I would say that 80 just became ineligible.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 24, 2007, 10:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 566
Robert,
Pretty much what Warrenkicker said. Your first formation does not involve the numberig exception. You have the 5 players you need on the line, so none of the rules regarding numbering exeption apply. Any additional "problems" do not necessarily effect this rule.
Now then, after your shift, numbering exception does apply and for the purpose of that rule, this is the "initial position". No matter what they do after this point, 48 cannot become eligible.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Punt Formation HL Clippenchain Football 15 Mon Aug 13, 2007 10:13pm
Illegal Formation - NFL Rule Question GPC2 Football 8 Tue Mar 20, 2007 06:43pm
Long Passes Foul Question? bballplayer Basketball 4 Tue Nov 09, 2004 04:24pm
formation question Trips Special Football 5 Tue Oct 05, 2004 01:46pm
Punt question MOFFICIAL Football 2 Sun Oct 03, 2004 10:35am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1