The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2007, 03:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: Jim...thanks. If case play 7.2.5D also said that at the snap there were five offensive linemen numbered 50-79, I'd consider myself corrected. But it doesn't and I've never seen an interpretation or case play that does. In fact, based upon the way 7.2.5D is worded, it's clear that no additional ineligible numbers shifted onto the line. Therefore this play does not illustrate that same situation I did in my post. And I fully agree with the case play that if there are less than five 50-79 on the line at the snap, #33 certainly remains ineligible throughout the down.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2007, 12:35pm
I Bleed Crimson
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 477
Now, I understand the casebook indicates the shift does not make somebody eligible.

But what I don't understand is why. Eligibility is determined at the snap, and there can be as many shifts as A wants. And the exception in 7.2.5a says:
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2007 NFHS Rules 7.2.5b
A player in the game under this exception must assume an initial position on his line of scrimmage between the ends and he remains an ineligible forward-pass receiver during that down unless the pass is touched by B.
The relevant part is "must assume an initial position on his line of scrimmage between the ends."

The question is what is meant by "initial position." I've always thought it meant at the snap. For example, before a shift (assume a scrimmage kick formation in both):

80 23 57 33 58 62 41

After the shift:

23 57 33 58 62 41 80

That is, 80 shifts to the other end of the line.

I understand the casebook says that 23 remains ineligible. But if the "initial position" is established as they first lineup, and they lined up wrong, how can they correct this? What if 80 lined up on the wrong side? Do they all re-huddle then lineup again? Or are they forced to call a timeout?

Thus I think that a fair interpretation would be the position, at the snap, is the "initial position", and determines eligibility.

How did the casebook come up with this interpretation?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2007, 06:14pm
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
Simply put...

If during a scrimmage kick one lines up on the line and is ineliglible that person remains ineligible for the remainder of the down regardless of thier number or positioning at the snap.
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Punt Formation HL Clippenchain Football 15 Mon Aug 13, 2007 10:13pm
Illegal Formation - NFL Rule Question GPC2 Football 8 Tue Mar 20, 2007 06:43pm
Long Passes Foul Question? bballplayer Basketball 4 Tue Nov 09, 2004 04:24pm
formation question Trips Special Football 5 Tue Oct 05, 2004 01:46pm
Punt question MOFFICIAL Football 2 Sun Oct 03, 2004 10:35am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1