The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 04, 2005, 11:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally posted by mcrowder
By that logic, ANY contact with the ball, however small, would constitute a NEW force. What are the rules in FED around this (what do those rules actually say)? I'm an NCAA guy trying to understand this.
REPLY: See tpaul's post (10/3 5:46pm) The Fed rules say that a new force may be added. It's solely in the covering official's judgement to determine if the contact with the ball was sufficient to put the ball across the goal line and that there was no reasonable expectation that it could have gotten there without the contact. As a counter-example, A fumbles at his own 5. Ball is rolling backwards toward A's goal line. B muffs the ball across the goal line where A recovers...or it rolls OOB behind the goal line. My ruling: Safety. I would not rule a new force if the ball was rolling toward A's goal line when B muffs it.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1