Quote:
	
	
		| Originally posted by Forksref 
 
	Sounds like K provided the force that put the ball into the endzone, therefore it is a safety.Quote: 
	
		| Originally posted by tpaul K1 scrimmage kick is blocked on K's 5-yard line and is rolling away from the near goal line when R1 muffs the ball in K's end zone. K2 recovers the ball and is downed in the end zone. Ruling:
 |  | 
	
 Forksref, rule 2-13-2 says "responsibility for forcing the ball from the field of play across a goal line is attributed to the player who carries, snaps, passes, fumbles, or kicks the ball, 
unless a new force is applied to either a backwards pass, kick, or fumble that has been grounded.
We have a grounded kick, which is rolling "away" from the EZ and then is muffed by R1 back into the EZ. This is definitely a "new force" by R1, thus the touchback.