
Mon Oct 03, 2005, 02:52pm
|
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 201
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by cmathews
Quote:
Originally posted by mcrowder
By that logic, ANY contact with the ball, however small, would constitute a NEW force. What are the rules in FED around this (what do those rules actually say)? I'm an NCAA guy trying to understand this.
|
The fed rules avoid that problem by telling us when to ignore mr Newton. It says that force is never a factor on kicks into R's endzone. If in this play R muffed the ball at their 5 yard line and it was rolling on the ground away from their goal line, at which point r2 came along and tried to cover it, and knocked it into the endzone, where R 3 recovered it, we have a Touchback as opposed to a safety, because force is never a factor on kicks into r's endzone....and kicks into R's endzone are always a touchback
|
But the original post was
Quote:
Originally posted by tpaul
K1 scrimmage kick is blocked on K's 5-yard line and is rolling away from the near goal line when R1 muffs the ball in K's end zone. K2 recovers the ball and is downed in the end zone. Ruling:
|
putting ball back into K's endzone?
|