Thread: Play question?
View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 03, 2005, 12:06pm
Bob M. Bob M. is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally posted by ChickenOfNC
I don't know. There's been a whole lot of discussion at our local association meetings about what constitutes a new force. We've had a lot of guys who argue both ways on this.
REPLY: The rule used to read that a new force could be added to a ball at rest or nearly at rest. But they changed that some time ago. I'll check when they did that when I get home and post the "before" and "after" rules.

Note: In NCAA, a new force (they call it "impetus") can be imparted by a bat or an illegal kick. Any other contact (e.g. a muff) can impart a new impetus only when the ball has come to rest.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote