The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 10, 2016, 04:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
Because that's the Federation interpretation. I'm not trying to be flip but that's pretty much what we have to go on.
You mean the Case Book? Would you mind quoting from it, please? (Always interesting to find a contradiction between it & the actual rules.)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 10, 2016, 07:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: maryland
Posts: 4
Casebook: During a field-goal attempt,R1,who is in the end zone,leaps up and blocks the ball away from the crossbar. Ruling: touchback. The touching by R1 in the end zone causes the ball to become dead, unless the ball caroms through the goal, thus scoring a field goal. This is not illegal batting, as the touching caused the kick to fail.

6-3-1 It is a touchback if any free kick or scrimmage kick:

b. Which is a three-point field-goal attempt, in flight touches a K player in R's end zone, or after breaking the plane of R's goal line is unsuccessful.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 11, 2016, 09:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,920
Thanks, flaghappy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by flaghappy
Casebook: During a field-goal attempt,R1,who is in the end zone,leaps up and blocks the ball away from the crossbar. Ruling: touchback. The touching by R1 in the end zone causes the ball to become dead, unless the ball caroms through the goal, thus scoring a field goal. This is not illegal batting, as the touching caused the kick to fail.

6-3-1 It is a touchback if any free kick or scrimmage kick:

b. Which is a three-point field-goal attempt, in flight touches a K player in R's end zone, or after breaking the plane of R's goal line is unsuccessful.
Wow. So they just interpolated the bit I bolded, and nullified the bit I underlined. Probably they thought, "It makes no sense to reward the defender for merely touching the ball (which could be a difficult event to see anyway), so the rules committee must not have meant to do so."

But why'd they write "the touching caused the kick to fail", when in this interpretation, it didn't? Maybe the Case Book, as long as this interpretation is asserted, meant to say, "the deflection of the ball away from the goal caused the kick to fail". Or maybe should've just left that clause out, because it weakens their assertion.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 11, 2016, 11:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
Thanks, flaghappy.


Wow. So they just interpolated the bit I bolded, and nullified the bit I underlined. Probably they thought, "It makes no sense to reward the defender for merely touching the ball (which could be a difficult event to see anyway), so the rules committee must not have meant to do so."

But why'd they write "the touching caused the kick to fail", when in this interpretation, it didn't? Maybe the Case Book, as long as this interpretation is asserted, meant to say, "the deflection of the ball away from the goal caused the kick to fail". Or maybe should've just left that clause out, because it weakens their assertion.
Robert, I believe the difference is in who touches the ball in the EZ. If K touches it it is unsuccessful FG. (Possible reasoning: K can't help their own kick get through the uprights.) But if R touches it then it can score a field goal. Possible Reasoning: R should have left it alone and it wouldn't have gone through the uprights ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 12, 2016, 11:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitehat View Post
Robert, I believe the difference is in who touches the ball in the EZ. If K touches it it is unsuccessful FG. (Possible reasoning: K can't help their own kick get through the uprights.) But if R touches it then it can score a field goal. Possible Reasoning: R should have left it alone and it wouldn't have gone through the uprights ;-)
But everybody realizes that. Yet this particular rule provision specifically applies to touches by players of R, and the case book specifically contradicts it. No mention of touches by K in that context. You think it was a typo?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 12, 2016, 09:15pm
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
Cool

Ever see a dog chase it's tail?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 13, 2016, 01:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 789
No it doesn't Robert. The rule book prevents K from touching the ball by making the ball dead immediately. The case book allows R to touch the ball and keeps the ball alive long enough to determine if the FG was good, which is consistent with the rule.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Penalty enforcement stewsport Football 15 Mon Oct 19, 2009 06:32pm
Penalty enforcement BigFarns Football 7 Fri Sep 08, 2006 12:32pm
Penalty Enforcement on TDs BoBo Football 7 Tue Oct 05, 2004 01:09pm
penalty enforcement yankeesfan Football 4 Sat Aug 28, 2004 09:22am
Penalty Enforcement Ed Maeder Football 2 Sun Sep 14, 2003 08:50pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1