![]() |
Fed goaltending penalty enforcement
This came out in a thread at Coach Huey's. I know that in Federation rules, a player of the receiving team jumping to deflect a field goal attempt, where the jumping occurs in proximity to the goal rather than the neutral zone, is illegal batting, the ball being allowed to stay alive only as long as it still has a chance to score. What I can't figure out is the enforcement. I've pored over the provisions and can't figure out the priorities in resolution between post scrimmage kick and fouls behind the receiving team's goal line. My guess is that it's half the distance from the 20 yard line, team R getting a first down.
|
This is not illegal batting. The result of the play is a touchback. The receivers will get the ball on the 20 yard line. Rule 6-3-1b and 2016 casebook page 47 6-3-1 situation B.
|
Quote:
|
If the ball is deflected away from the goalposts it is considered a dead ball and a touchback. If it is deflected between the goalposts and above the crossbar it is a field goal.
|
meant to say if it is deflected between the uprights and above the crossbar it is a field goal
|
Quote:
I believe this is a difference from NCAA which would regard this as an illegal batting foul. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
In NFL this is treated as an unfair act. Their provision was adopted ~50 years ago. So in NFL & NCAA, better go up with both hands, and then you're trying to catch the ball, not bat it, and if you muff it away from the goal in the process, that doesn't appear to be illegal. In rugby if the ball's still rising as it approaches the bar, I think it's treated in both Union & League as "charging down" or "rebound" of an opponent's kick, and is not a knock-on if the ball is deflected forward (relative to the player doing it). If the ball's descending, then the knock-on laws apply. In Canadian football, amateur & pro, goaltending like this is not illegal, but if the ball is deflected forward to an offside teammate I think it's an offside pass. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Casebook: During a field-goal attempt,R1,who is in the end zone,leaps up and blocks the ball away from the crossbar. Ruling: touchback. The touching by R1 in the end zone causes the ball to become dead, unless the ball caroms through the goal, thus scoring a field goal. This is not illegal batting, as the touching caused the kick to fail.
6-3-1 It is a touchback if any free kick or scrimmage kick: b. Which is a three-point field-goal attempt, in flight touches a K player in R's end zone, or after breaking the plane of R's goal line is unsuccessful. |
Thanks, flaghappy.
Quote:
But why'd they write "the touching caused the kick to fail", when in this interpretation, it didn't? Maybe the Case Book, as long as this interpretation is asserted, meant to say, "the deflection of the ball away from the goal caused the kick to fail". Or maybe should've just left that clause out, because it weakens their assertion. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Ever see a dog chase it's tail?
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11pm. |