The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 14, 2016, 11:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 236
in K's EZ

NFHS: Here are a few to think through:


1. A/K on own 2 yard line 4/10. Punter waiting for snap as he stands very close to end line. As ball is snapped punter steps back out of the EZ and then back in, then catches the snap and punts it to K25 yd line, where R makes fair catch. score K-10, R-7 and time expires in the 4th qtr during the down.
Ruling/options?

2. A/K on own 2 yard line 3/10. Punter stays inbounds in his own EZ, but snap is high and punter jumps up and bats the ball forward out of the EZ into field of play to the 1yd line where A/K26 recovers and is downed.
Ruling/options?

3. Same down and distance as above. Low snap, ball skips on ground towards punter who is in his own EZ, he kicks it off the ground to K35 yd line where it is returned for an apparent TD by R. But during the return R55 blocks K12 in back at K10 yd line.
Ruling/options?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 15, 2016, 09:19am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitehat View Post
NFHS: Here are a few to think through:


1. A/K on own 2 yard line 4/10. Punter waiting for snap as he stands very close to end line. As ball is snapped punter steps back out of the EZ and then back in, then catches the snap and punts it to K25 yd line, where R makes fair catch. score K-10, R-7 and time expires in the 4th qtr during the down.
Ruling/options?
By rule, Illegal Participation. Enforce from the spot of the foul which results in a safety. The period is not extended for a foul that results in a safety. (3-3-4b5).

Either way, the game is over.

Quote:
2. A/K on own 2 yard line 3/10. Punter stays inbounds in his own EZ, but snap is high and punter jumps up and bats the ball forward out of the EZ into field of play to the 1yd line where A/K26 recovers and is downed.
Ruling/options?
Foul for illegally batting a backward pass forward. (9-7-3) The spot of the foul is the endzone so accepting the penalty will result in a safety.

Quote:
3. Same down and distance as above. Low snap, ball skips on ground towards punter who is in his own EZ, he kicks it off the ground to K35 yd line where it is returned for an apparent TD by R. But during the return R55 blocks K12 in back at K10 yd line.
Ruling/options?
Foul for illegal kicking by K. Since there was a change of possession and R got the ball with clean hands, they can accept K's foul which will result in a double foul. Offset and replay the down.

Otherwise Team R can decline Team K's foul to keep the ball. The penalty for their foul will be enforced from the K-10. 1st and 10 for R at the K-20. They will probably take this option. Clock on the snap.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 15, 2016, 11:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 236
Nice work Welpe! That was too easy for you :-) Sometimes in the heat of battle these kind can be foggy and confusing but thinking through them in advance can help!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 15, 2016, 11:43am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitehat View Post
Nice work Welpe! That was too easy for you :-) Sometimes in the heat of battle these kind can be foggy and confusing but thinking through them in advance can help!
I had an illegal kick in the end zone this year -- snap went over the P head and was kicked off the ground out of the back of the end zone. Flag came out immediately. Going over these plays over and over again makes you ready even if you haven't had them before.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 15, 2016, 06:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
Quote:
A/K on own 2 yard line 4/10. Punter waiting for snap as he stands very close to end line. As ball is snapped punter steps back out of the EZ and then back in, then catches the snap and punts it to K25 yd line, where R makes fair catch. score K-10, R-7 and time expires in the 4th qtr during the down.
Ruling/options?
NCAA: Legal play; game is over.

Quote:
A/K on own 2 yard line 3/10. Punter stays inbounds in his own EZ, but snap is high and punter jumps up and bats the ball forward out of the EZ into field of play to the 1yd line where A/K26 recovers and is downed.
Ruling/options?
NCAA: Foul for illegal batting of a backward pass by Team A. Safety.

Quote:
Same down and distance as above. Low snap, ball skips on ground towards punter who is in his own EZ, he kicks it off the ground to K35 yd line where it is returned for an apparent TD by R. But during the return R55 blocks K12 in back at K10 yd line.
Ruling/options?
NCAA: Foul by team A for illegally kicking the ball. Foul by Team B after the change in possession for the block in the back. Team B may decline Team A's foul and accept possession on the A20. Otherwise, penalties offset and the down if replayed.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 16, 2016, 12:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 236
Aggie, curious about "legal play" on #1 for NCAA. Can a player step out of bounds and then back in and participate/touch the ball without it being Ill participation?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1