The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 07, 2015, 12:52am
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
the foul call should have been a charge
Restricted area.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 07, 2015, 01:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
Restricted area.
Thought of that already. Don't believe that it had anything to do with the call as the official never gives any indication by pointing to the arc/floor area.

Certainly not an expert in pro rules as I don't work those contests, but I also can't believe that the RA would apply under the conditions of this play. (an offensive rebound is obtained with the defender already inside the arc)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 08, 2015, 11:21pm
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Thought of that already. Don't believe that it had anything to do with the call as the official never gives any indication by pointing to the arc/floor area.

Certainly not an expert in pro rules as I don't work those contests, but I also can't believe that the RA would apply under the conditions of this play. (an offensive rebound is obtained with the defender already inside the arc)
You are right we did not see the official point to the RA but the camera does cut away just after the official finishes the block signal. Perhaps he felt it was a block anyway and didn't need to point?

I'm curious about the LDB aspect too....I though the LDB only applies to a player who receives a pass within the box, not just any ball received within the LDB. Perhaps APG can enlighten us?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 09, 2015, 12:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
I'm curious about the LDB aspect too....I thought the LDB only applies to a player who receives a pass within the box, not just any ball received within the LDB. Perhaps APG can enlighten us?
If the offensive player receives a pass within the LDB or starts their move to the basket within the LDB, the LDB is off and the RA restrictions do not apply.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 09, 2015, 12:58am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
RA is not in play here...play originates in the LDB off the rebound.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WNBA fight (try again) Jay R Basketball 5 Fri Jul 25, 2008 07:06pm
WNBA Fight Larks Basketball 33 Thu Jul 24, 2008 07:44pm
WNBA Finals CLH Basketball 7 Tue Sep 05, 2006 05:50am
WNBA new format NICK Basketball 4 Mon May 08, 2006 02:55pm
WNBA truerookie Basketball 12 Thu Sep 01, 2005 07:12am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1