The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 05, 2015, 07:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
I would give team A ten seconds from when A2 lands to return the ball to the frontcourt as the ball achieved frontcourt status on the catch and there is no backcourt violation due to the throw-in exception.
Does not the exception effectively cause a "neutral or undefined" status regarding the ball location, and therefore the subsequent landing in the backcourt by A2, while in possession of the ball, cause the ball to be in the backcourt and the 10-second count to continue?
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 05, 2015, 08:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob1968 View Post
Does not the exception effectively cause a "neutral or undefined" status regarding the ball location,
No.

A ball that is touching a player in the air has the location of the player when the player last touched the court.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 05, 2015, 08:51am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
There will now be throw-in plays where coaches tell their players to jump from the FC to the BC while catching the throw-in.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 05, 2015, 01:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
There will now be throw-in plays where coaches tell their players to jump from the FC to the BC while catching the throw-in.
While I agree with the conclusions being drawn here, I think it is safe to say that the intent of the change would not be to restart the count at 0 in this sort of play.

I could see either an interpretation or even a rule update to say that a player who catches the ball in the air on a throwin does not give the ball frontcourt/backcourt status until they land. That would solve this issue as well as a number of other issues.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 05, 2015, 02:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Now I know that APG was the moderator who was also a camper at York last weekend.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 05, 2015, 02:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
To answer the original question. It is a 10 second violation. (if touched at 26 on a 35 second clock it will go to 25 with no FC status. count continues if touched at 26 on a 30 clock)

Last edited by BigCat; Fri Jun 05, 2015 at 03:09pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 05, 2015, 02:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
To answer the original question. It is a shot clock violation.
Shot clock violation? I think you meant backcourt violation, which is incorrect. Bob's answer is correct. The ball gains front court status when touched by the player in the air that last contacted the ground in the front court. The exception allows that player to land in the backcourt without a violation being called.

No violation. Start a new, visible, 10 second count.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 05, 2015, 02:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55 View Post
Now I know that APG was the moderator who was also a camper at York last weekend.
There are a lot of people on this forum that heard Jon Levinson speak at York, apparently.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 06, 2015, 12:23pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
While I agree with the conclusions being drawn here, I think it is safe to say that the intent of the change would not be to restart the count at 0 in this sort of play.

I could see either an interpretation or even a rule update to say that a player who catches the ball in the air on a throwin does not give the ball frontcourt/backcourt status until they land. That would solve this issue as well as a number of other issues.
The NCAA-Women's committee is going to give the ball FC status on the catch and still allow the throw-in exception to land in the BC. So a new 10-second will be given.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 06, 2015, 01:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
The NCAA-Women's committee is going to give the ball FC status on the catch and still allow the throw-in exception to land in the BC. So a new 10-second will be given.
As it should. Don't change the rule because of a situation which occurs infrequently.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 05, 2015, 01:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
No.

A ball that is touching a player in the air has the location of the player when the player last touched the court.
The NCAAM definition of ball location for airborne players--4-23-2 specifically excludes the throw in. says "(except during a throw in)". Somewhere else there is a case play or it was a test answer saying that the airborne player has "no status" when he first to touch it from throw in.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 05, 2015, 03:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
The NCAAM definition of ball location for airborne players--4-23-2 specifically excludes the throw in. says "(except during a throw in)". Somewhere else there is a case play or it was a test answer saying that the airborne player has "no status" when he first to touch it from throw in.
Yes, for the player (although I had forgotten this part when I made my statement).

But, for the ball:

a. A ball that is in contact with a player or with the playing court shall be in
the back court when either the ball or the player (either player when the
ball is touching more than one) is touching the back court. It shall be in the
front court when neither the ball nor the player is touching the back court.

Since the neither the player nor the ball is touching the backcourt, the ball must be in the front court. ??

I agree with Camron that an interp / change is needed.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 05, 2015, 08:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Yes, for the player (although I had forgotten this part when I made my statement).

But, for the ball:

a. A ball that is in contact with a player or with the playing court shall be in
the back court when either the ball or the player (either player when the
ball is touching more than one) is touching the back court. It shall be in the
front court when neither the ball nor the player is touching the back court.

Since the neither the player nor the ball is touching the backcourt, the ball must be in the front court. ??

I agree with Camron that an interp / change is needed.
clarification would be helpful. i do think to determine status when ball in air and player in air you have to look at airborne player location rule. i dont think rule above applies. that deals with thrown passes etc that strike the court or players holding ball near division line. lift a foot etc...imo
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 05, 2015, 08:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 299
9-13-10

In the women's book, rule 9-13-10 will have to be clarified. Right now, a player who leaps from the front court and catches a throw in with both feet off the court can land on either side of the division line; my 'common sense' interpretation would be to assume that the ball never achieved front court status in this scenario, but yes, some clarification will be necessary.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 06, 2015, 12:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt S. View Post
In the women's book, rule 9-13-10 will have to be clarified. Right now, a player who leaps from the front court and catches a throw in with both feet off the court can land on either side of the division line; my 'common sense' interpretation would be to assume that the ball never achieved front court status in this scenario, but yes, some clarification will be necessary.
Why would you assume that?
Why not accept that the ball achieves frontcourt status on the catch and then returns to the backcourt on the landing, but due to the throw-in exception the team does not commit a violation?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw in situation ILMalti Basketball 19 Fri Jul 10, 2009 09:44am
Need some help on a free throw situation. NURef Basketball 35 Sat Jul 05, 2008 01:10pm
Free Throw Situation walter Basketball 3 Sat Nov 25, 2006 07:45pm
Free Throw Situation Viking32 Basketball 6 Mon Feb 17, 2003 03:21pm
Throw in situation: williebfree Basketball 63 Thu Jan 16, 2003 09:03pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1