The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 05, 2015, 01:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
No.

A ball that is touching a player in the air has the location of the player when the player last touched the court.
The NCAAM definition of ball location for airborne players--4-23-2 specifically excludes the throw in. says "(except during a throw in)". Somewhere else there is a case play or it was a test answer saying that the airborne player has "no status" when he first to touch it from throw in.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 05, 2015, 03:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
The NCAAM definition of ball location for airborne players--4-23-2 specifically excludes the throw in. says "(except during a throw in)". Somewhere else there is a case play or it was a test answer saying that the airborne player has "no status" when he first to touch it from throw in.
Yes, for the player (although I had forgotten this part when I made my statement).

But, for the ball:

a. A ball that is in contact with a player or with the playing court shall be in
the back court when either the ball or the player (either player when the
ball is touching more than one) is touching the back court. It shall be in the
front court when neither the ball nor the player is touching the back court.

Since the neither the player nor the ball is touching the backcourt, the ball must be in the front court. ??

I agree with Camron that an interp / change is needed.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 05, 2015, 08:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Yes, for the player (although I had forgotten this part when I made my statement).

But, for the ball:

a. A ball that is in contact with a player or with the playing court shall be in
the back court when either the ball or the player (either player when the
ball is touching more than one) is touching the back court. It shall be in the
front court when neither the ball nor the player is touching the back court.

Since the neither the player nor the ball is touching the backcourt, the ball must be in the front court. ??

I agree with Camron that an interp / change is needed.
clarification would be helpful. i do think to determine status when ball in air and player in air you have to look at airborne player location rule. i dont think rule above applies. that deals with thrown passes etc that strike the court or players holding ball near division line. lift a foot etc...imo
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 05, 2015, 08:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 299
9-13-10

In the women's book, rule 9-13-10 will have to be clarified. Right now, a player who leaps from the front court and catches a throw in with both feet off the court can land on either side of the division line; my 'common sense' interpretation would be to assume that the ball never achieved front court status in this scenario, but yes, some clarification will be necessary.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 06, 2015, 12:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt S. View Post
In the women's book, rule 9-13-10 will have to be clarified. Right now, a player who leaps from the front court and catches a throw in with both feet off the court can land on either side of the division line; my 'common sense' interpretation would be to assume that the ball never achieved front court status in this scenario, but yes, some clarification will be necessary.
Why would you assume that?
Why not accept that the ball achieves frontcourt status on the catch and then returns to the backcourt on the landing, but due to the throw-in exception the team does not commit a violation?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 06, 2015, 01:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Why would you assume that?
Why not accept that the ball achieves frontcourt status on the catch and then returns to the backcourt on the landing, but due to the throw-in exception the team does not commit a violation?
I know you are asking Matt….but….I would assume what you say but for the wording of 4-23-2. It discusses player location just as we all know it---player located where last in contact with court. ball location when have airborne player is last location of the player. I agree with you on everything accept throw in. 4-23-2 says (except during throw in). That language has to mean something..?

They may clarify but you could argue from that language that when I touch the ball in the air during throw in i have no status and thus the ball has no status….until I land. So clock starts on touching and count continues…

BTW-good to be back...

Last edited by BigCat; Sat Jun 06, 2015 at 01:42pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 07, 2015, 09:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 299
This

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
I know you are asking Matt….but….I would assume what you say but for the wording of 4-23-2. It discusses player location just as we all know it---player located where last in contact with court. ball location when have airborne player is last location of the player. I agree with you on everything accept throw in. 4-23-2 says (except during throw in). That language has to mean something..?

They may clarify but you could argue from that language that when I touch the ball in the air during throw in i have no status and thus the ball has no status….until I land. So clock starts on touching and count continues…

BTW-good to be back...
Exactly what BigCat said. The intent of the rule change is likely to both reward good defense and make the game more exciting. As with any rule change, all loopholes must be closed...I don't think the committee is looking to create situations where coaches can try to circumvent the true intent of the rule.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 07, 2015, 10:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 4
My .02

I wondered how long it would take for this conversation to take place. And, as I stated at York, there will be a conversation with the men concerning this. Nowhere was it ever stated that the women's committee would be doing anything with this. And I did present the play for discussion and what MAY be the correct answer.

We know that the player who catches the throw-in may land in either the backcourt or frontcourt. NFHS goes so far as to say that this player has no status relative to frontcourt or backcourt status if that player (and only that player) returns to the floor possessing the ball (NFHS 2014-15 Point of Emphasis, page 69). The NCAA books do not specifically make this statement. 9-13.10 does not state that this player does or does not have any status.

Just sit tight...

But do look at 4-23.2

Last edited by bballrules; Sun Jun 07, 2015 at 01:29pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 10, 2015, 04:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 845
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
The NCAAM definition of ball location for airborne players--4-23-2 specifically excludes the throw in. says "(except during a throw in)". Somewhere else there is a case play or it was a test answer saying that the airborne player has "no status" when he first to touch it from throw in.
Think about it... Player jumps from Back Court, catches the ball and lands 1st foot in Front Court and 2nd foot in back Court.
Catches the ball. Has Back Court status
Lands in Front Court. Has Front Court status.
Touches Back Court. Has Back Court status. VIOLATION
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 10, 2015, 05:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
Think about it... Player jumps from Back Court, catches the ball and lands 1st foot in Front Court and 2nd foot in back Court.
Catches the ball. Has Back Court status
Lands in Front Court. Has Front Court status.
Touches Back Court. Has Back Court status. VIOLATION
Yes, that's how it has always been. The exception only applies to a player jumping front his FRONTCOURT.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 10, 2015, 05:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
Think about it... Player jumps from Back Court, catches the ball and lands 1st foot in Front Court and 2nd foot in back Court.
Catches the ball. Has Back Court status
Lands in Front Court. Has Front Court status.
Touches Back Court. Has Back Court status. VIOLATION
Not on a throwin.

NCAA 4-3-8:
Quote:
After a jump ball or during a throw-in, the player in his/her front court, who makes the initial touch on the ball while both feet are off the playing court, may be the first to secure control of the ball and land with one or both feet in the back court. It makes no difference if the first foot down was in the front court or back court.
NFHS 9-9-3:
Quote:
During a jump ball, throw-in or while on defense, a player may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Wed Jun 10, 2015 at 05:38pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 10, 2015, 05:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
Think about it... Player jumps from Back Court, catches the ball and lands 1st foot in Front Court and 2nd foot in back Court.
Catches the ball. Has Back Court status
Lands in Front Court. Has Front Court status.
Touches Back Court. Has Back Court status. VIOLATION
I'm sorry Zooch. (i like that better than ZoochY. please consider changing your name) ive proven here on the forum i can be a bit slow. i understand normal status rules. not clear on your first few sentences.

during throw in i can catch in air and land first foot in Fc second in BC and it is not a violation. exception to normal BC rules. i get to make natural landing.
what we are trying to figure out is does the 10 second count end moment i touch ball in air if i left from FC. under normal rules the ball has FC status. count should end. NCAAm status stuff however says, "except during throw in"...

so maybe they subscribe to the theory when you catch ball in air off a throw in you have no status until you land. therefore, count continues on touch and vilation....its been a long day...
i do not think they should change status rules further. if player jumps from front court then the ball has FC status and count should end. he can land in BC and not violation cause of the exception. i dont see a reason to change it to "no status." we will see what they come up with...

Last edited by BigCat; Wed Jun 10, 2015 at 05:38pm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 10, 2015, 05:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
Think about it... Player jumps from Back Court, catches the ball and lands 1st foot in Front Court and 2nd foot in back Court.
Catches the ball. Has Back Court status
Lands in Front Court. Has Front Court status.
Touches Back Court. Has Back Court status. VIOLATION
Zooch, i saw Nevada post and he is right...and you are right that if player jumps from BC and catches ball in air, first foot down is in FC..he has FC status. if he touches the other foot in BC he has violated. the OP we were talking about had player jumping from FC and catching ball i air. i think question was do we stop the 10 count....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw in situation ILMalti Basketball 19 Fri Jul 10, 2009 09:44am
Need some help on a free throw situation. NURef Basketball 35 Sat Jul 05, 2008 01:10pm
Free Throw Situation walter Basketball 3 Sat Nov 25, 2006 07:45pm
Free Throw Situation Viking32 Basketball 6 Mon Feb 17, 2003 03:21pm
Throw in situation: williebfree Basketball 63 Thu Jan 16, 2003 09:03pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1