![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
I could see either an interpretation or even a rule update to say that a player who catches the ball in the air on a throwin does not give the ball frontcourt/backcourt status until they land. That would solve this issue as well as a number of other issues.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
To answer the original question. It is a 10 second violation. (if touched at 26 on a 35 second clock it will go to 25 with no FC status. count continues if touched at 26 on a 30 clock)
Last edited by BigCat; Fri Jun 05, 2015 at 03:09pm. |
|
|||
Shot clock violation? I think you meant backcourt violation, which is incorrect. Bob's answer is correct. The ball gains front court status when touched by the player in the air that last contacted the ground in the front court. The exception allows that player to land in the backcourt without a violation being called.
No violation. Start a new, visible, 10 second count. |
|
|||
Quote:
Last edited by BigCat; Fri Jun 05, 2015 at 03:10pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
As it should. Don't change the rule because of a situation which occurs infrequently.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Throw in situation | ILMalti | Basketball | 19 | Fri Jul 10, 2009 09:44am |
Need some help on a free throw situation. | NURef | Basketball | 35 | Sat Jul 05, 2008 01:10pm |
Free Throw Situation | walter | Basketball | 3 | Sat Nov 25, 2006 07:45pm |
Free Throw Situation | Viking32 | Basketball | 6 | Mon Feb 17, 2003 03:21pm |
Throw in situation: | williebfree | Basketball | 63 | Thu Jan 16, 2003 09:03pm |