The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 14, 2015, 11:11am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
And, according to the actual dribble/travel rules, there is no such thing as "gather". When the ball comes to rest in a hand to end the dribble, it is being held. There is no mystical 3rd status between dribbling and holding unless they lose player control. It doesn't require that they squeeze it between two hands and pull it in to some magic spot. Gather may be a valid NBA term but it doesn't exist at other levels and applying it to them is not currently supported by the rules.
Yep, and just fleshing this out a bit.

The point at which you would call a double dribble if the player proceeds to dribble is the point at which you should consider the ball to be "held" for purposes of pivot foot establishment.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 14, 2015, 11:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Yep, and just fleshing this out a bit.

The point at which you would call a double dribble if the player proceeds to dribble is the point at which you should consider the ball to be "held" for purposes of pivot foot establishment.
So, in the play being discussed, maybe the officials didn't think he was holding the ball . . .
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 14, 2015, 01:09pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob1968 View Post
So, in the play being discussed, maybe the officials didn't think he was holding the ball . . .
Oh, I just think they missed it. Digging any deeper than that is pointless.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 14, 2015, 01:02pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Yep, and just fleshing this out a bit.

The point at which you would call a double dribble if the player proceeds to dribble is the point at which you should consider the ball to be "held" for purposes of pivot foot establishment.

That's not necessarily true. Say a player stumbles then lunges and barely touches the ball with both hands, that would end the dribble but there could be a loss of control.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 14, 2015, 01:12pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
That's not necessarily true. Say a player stumbles then lunges and barely touches the ball with both hands, that would end the dribble but there could be a loss of control.
Fair point, but I'd say the guideline would only apply to determining when a player began holding the ball. If he's not holding it as he stumbles, or even if he fumbles at some point before moving, a travel wouldn't necessarily apply.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 14, 2015, 01:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
That's not necessarily true. Say a player stumbles then lunges and barely touches the ball with both hands, that would end the dribble but there could be a loss of control.
The point in my post ('unless they lose player control") to which he responded covered that possibility. Loss of control would always end any possibility of a travel. But, I think, that in most cases, control is not lost between the end of the dribble and what immediately follows.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 14, 2015, 01:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Yep, and just fleshing this out a bit.

The point at which you would call a double dribble if the player proceeds to dribble is the point at which you should consider the ball to be "held" for purposes of pivot foot establishment.
Or a carry....since a carry is just the ending of one dribble by allowing the ball to come to rest in a hand (holding it) and the immediate start of another dribble.

Remember that double (illegal) dribble and carry were once, not all that long ago, the same violation. They only split out carry to improve the communication of what happened. They did not a change the rules of what was or was not legal.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Tue Apr 14, 2015 at 01:24pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pivot Foot The_Rookie Basketball 10 Tue May 10, 2011 04:50pm
Jump stop/pivot/step dave30 Basketball 16 Sat Mar 21, 2009 09:57pm
No Pivot? Johnny Ringo Basketball 36 Tue Nov 25, 2008 08:27pm
1B pivot p.s. Paul L Baseball 6 Fri Sep 29, 2006 08:08am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1