![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I don't agree. Either the contact is a foul or the player leaving the court is at risk of being penalized with a violation (if first to touch in NCAA).
|
|
|||
|
A1 and B1 run parallel down the sideline. They both look back in anticipation of an outlet pass. There is contact. (if this contact had happened in the center of the court nobody would have thought twice about it) As the contact occurs, A1 steps on the line. The outlet pass comes and A1 makes a leaping catch. You would call this a violation?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
A1 slips on a wet spot and falls to the floor. In doing so, his foot touches the sideline. He jumps to his feet (inbounds) catches the ball and shoots. Is this a violation?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Was going to start a new thread on this question but it seems closely relevant (rule wise anyways) Saw this play run a few times in a game Sat and opposing coach wanting a T: Baseline OOB throw under A's basket, after A1 makes the throw in, he remains OOB at that spot for several seconds as the ball is passed among his teammates, then he runs to corner to receive a pass, I suppose hoping the defense loses track. Any violation for NOT returning inbounds soon after throw?
EDIT: Sorry, I see I should have read another thread for a more similar play and question. Last edited by letemplay; Mon Feb 02, 2015 at 09:12am. |
|
|||
|
What if contact is caused by a teammate? Two crossing teammates bump one steps on endline/past gatherhing balance?
What if contact is not a foul. Defensive player holding position in the middle of the key entitled to their post and offensive player not paying attention runs into the defender and bounces off and steps on baseline as a result?
__________________
Coach: Hey ref I'll make sure you can get out of here right after the game! Me: Thanks, but why the big rush. Coach: Oh I thought you must have a big date . . .we're not the only ones your planning on F$%&ing tonite are we! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Conversely, when a thrower is not involved and you have players going OOB for unauthorized reasons, it's a violation. Interestingly for the sake of NFHS trivia and/or future exam questions, this along with the excessively swinging elbows violation are the two violations (when committed by opponents of the shooter) that do not cause the ball to become dead when a try is in flight. Usually it's a foul that activates this exception, but there are two violations that do as well. Last edited by crosscountry55; Mon Feb 02, 2015 at 12:02pm. Reason: Because BigCat made an excellent point... |
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() Didn't want you missing the trivia question….thx Your trivia is about NFHS. NCAAm swinging arms and elbows also makes the ball dead unless try in flight and opponent does it. Last edited by BigCat; Mon Feb 02, 2015 at 11:59am. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Strange(False)Ending in MInnesota 3A semi-final | paulsonj72 | Baseball | 51 | Thu Jun 21, 2012 07:12am |
| Amazing ending ... 8 points in under 2 seconds (with video) | Brad | Basketball | 23 | Wed Mar 12, 2008 07:16am |
| Strange ending | EJL | Softball | 23 | Fri Aug 17, 2007 09:28pm |
| Wild ending -- video review -- MN-SDSU women | womens_hoops | Basketball | 50 | Wed Jan 24, 2007 08:18pm |
| Strange Local Rules | alabamabluezebra | Softball | 13 | Fri May 02, 2003 07:57am |