The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 02, 2015, 09:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 520
Was going to start a new thread on this question but it seems closely relevant (rule wise anyways) Saw this play run a few times in a game Sat and opposing coach wanting a T: Baseline OOB throw under A's basket, after A1 makes the throw in, he remains OOB at that spot for several seconds as the ball is passed among his teammates, then he runs to corner to receive a pass, I suppose hoping the defense loses track. Any violation for NOT returning inbounds soon after throw?

EDIT: Sorry, I see I should have read another thread for a more similar play and question.

Last edited by letemplay; Mon Feb 02, 2015 at 09:12am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 02, 2015, 09:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NB/PEI, Canada
Posts: 788
What if contact is caused by a teammate? Two crossing teammates bump one steps on endline/past gatherhing balance?

What if contact is not a foul. Defensive player holding position in the middle of the key entitled to their post and offensive player not paying attention runs into the defender and bounces off and steps on baseline as a result?
__________________
Coach: Hey ref I'll make sure you can get out of here right after the game!

Me: Thanks, but why the big rush.

Coach: Oh I thought you must have a big date . . .we're not the only ones your planning on F$%&ing tonite are we!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 02, 2015, 09:32am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pantherdreams View Post
What if contact is caused by a teammate? Two crossing teammates bump one steps on endline/past gatherhing balance?

What if contact is not a foul. Defensive player holding position in the middle of the key entitled to their post and offensive player not paying attention runs into the defender and bounces off and steps on baseline as a result?
The rule reads as "voluntarily". To me, those are not voluntary actions. I feel comfortable not calling a violation in those situations.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 02, 2015, 10:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay View Post
Was going to start a new thread on this question but it seems closely relevant (rule wise anyways) Saw this play run a few times in a game Sat and opposing coach wanting a T: Baseline OOB throw under A's basket, after A1 makes the throw in, he remains OOB at that spot for several seconds as the ball is passed among his teammates, then he runs to corner to receive a pass, I suppose hoping the defense loses track. Any violation for NOT returning inbounds soon after throw?
Coach may have had a point. I don't have my book in front of me, but when a thrower purposely delays returning inbounds in order to deceive, it's a Technical Foul on the player.

Conversely, when a thrower is not involved and you have players going OOB for unauthorized reasons, it's a violation.

Interestingly for the sake of NFHS trivia and/or future exam questions, this along with the excessively swinging elbows violation are the two violations (when committed by opponents of the shooter) that do not cause the ball to become dead when a try is in flight. Usually it's a foul that activates this exception, but there are two violations that do as well.

Last edited by crosscountry55; Mon Feb 02, 2015 at 12:02pm. Reason: Because BigCat made an excellent point...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 02, 2015, 11:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55 View Post
Coach may have had a point. I don't have my book in front of me, but when a thrower purposely delays returning inbounds in order to deceive, it's a Technical Foul on the player.

Conversely, when a thrower is not involved and you have players going OOB for unauthorized reasons, it's a violation.

Interestingly for the sake of trivia and/or future exam questions, this along with the excessively swinging elbows violation are the two violations that do not cause the ball to become dead when a try is in flight. Usually it's a foul that activates this exception, but there are two violations that do as well.
The ball becomes dead unless the violations you mentioned are committed by the opponent. I shoot, ball is in the air. You're on my team and run out of bounds or swing your elbows. ball dead. you cost us two points. (my shots always go in here
Didn't want you missing the trivia question….thx
Your trivia is about NFHS. NCAAm swinging arms and elbows also makes the ball dead unless try in flight and opponent does it.

Last edited by BigCat; Mon Feb 02, 2015 at 11:59am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange(False)Ending in MInnesota 3A semi-final paulsonj72 Baseball 51 Thu Jun 21, 2012 07:12am
Amazing ending ... 8 points in under 2 seconds (with video) Brad Basketball 23 Wed Mar 12, 2008 07:16am
Strange ending EJL Softball 23 Fri Aug 17, 2007 09:28pm
Wild ending -- video review -- MN-SDSU women womens_hoops Basketball 50 Wed Jan 24, 2007 08:18pm
Strange Local Rules alabamabluezebra Softball 13 Fri May 02, 2003 07:57am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1