The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2015, 11:10am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,956
I was going to respond off the cuff, but I guess the timing of the events is pertinent.

At some point there will be a T for adding that player to the book, unless he is all of a sudden going to go from starting to not playing at all.

I've never thought about the timing of a T for not having the proper starters designated in the book.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2015, 11:21am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,956
Learned something new today. Here is the case play in regards of when to penalize for incorrect starter being designated:


3.2.2 SITUATION F:

Team A designates No. 32 as a starter by the 10-minute timeframe prior to the game. In (a), as the teams take the floor for the opening jump ball, the scorer recognizes that No. 34 is on court instead of No. 32 for Team A and notifies the officials. In (b), following about two minutes of play in the first quarter, a time-out is called. The scorer notifies the officials that although Team A No. 32 was a designated starter, No. 34 started instead and is still in the game.

RULING: In (a), if Team A’s coach replaces No. 34 for the correct designated starter, No. 32, no penalty is assessed. If Team A’s coach elects to start the game with No. 34 instead of No. 32, a technical foul is assessed to Team A for changing a designated starter. In (b), no penalty is assessed. The infraction had to be discovered and penalized before the ball became live to start the game. Once the ball became live, it was too late to penalize for this specific infraction. (3-2-2a; 10-1-2a Penalty)
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2015, 11:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Learned something new today. Here is the case play in regards of when to penalize for incorrect starter being designated:


3.2.2 SITUATION F:

Team A designates No. 32 as a starter by the 10-minute timeframe prior to the game. In (a), as the teams take the floor for the opening jump ball, the scorer recognizes that No. 34 is on court instead of No. 32 for Team A and notifies the officials. In (b), following about two minutes of play in the first quarter, a time-out is called. The scorer notifies the officials that although Team A No. 32 was a designated starter, No. 34 started instead and is still in the game.

RULING: In (a), if Team A’s coach replaces No. 34 for the correct designated starter, No. 32, no penalty is assessed. If Team A’s coach elects to start the game with No. 34 instead of No. 32, a technical foul is assessed to Team A for changing a designated starter. In (b), no penalty is assessed. The infraction had to be discovered and penalized before the ball became live to start the game. Once the ball became live, it was too late to penalize for this specific infraction. (3-2-2a; 10-1-2a Penalty)
I thought that was the case but I wasn't sure. Thanks for the info BNR.

With that in mind, let me ask this follow up question. What should the table do in this situation - if we are sure of the rule?

Please understand I am NOT asking this question in an attempt to be a referee at the table - should the table (sort of quietly ask) the referee are they sure of the procedure in this situation?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2015, 12:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbodb1 View Post
With that in mind, let me ask this follow up question. What should the table do in this situation - if we are sure of the rule?

Please understand I am NOT asking this question in an attempt to be a referee at the table - should the table (sort of quietly ask) the referee are they sure of the procedure in this situation?
2-11-2 says one of the duties of the scorer is to notify the nearer official when there is an infraction of the rules *pertaining to submission of the roster, substitutions or numbers of players. IMO, this situation falls under the category of "pertaining to submission of the roster." I would notify the officials that an infraction of the rules has occurred and provide an explanation of what has occurred. It is not the scorer's duty to determine the penalty for that infraction. If you have informed the officials of the infraction, you have done your job. If they botch the enforcement of the penalty for the infraction (or fail to penalize the infraction at all, in your case), then the fault for that mistake lies entirely with them.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2015, 02:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Menifee,CA
Posts: 860
Our job behind the table is to provide information.It's up to the officials on the floor to determine proper enforcement.I may ask something to get the conversation going like-Hey guys isn't that a technical for changing the roster after 10 minutes? But from then on I zip it and let the professionals do what they're trained to do.
__________________
Derryl Trujillo
Official Scorekeeper-Woodcrest Christian High School Basketball
Referee-Inland Volleyball Officials Association
The golfing volleyball ref and official scorekeeper
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2015, 11:31am
TODO: creative title here
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,250
This is why I always ask the coaches to double-check the book as part of my pregame meeting (and why my pregame meeting ends before the 10-minute mark).

A couple of things you need to try to figure out:
1) was the correct information supplied to the table prior to the 10-minute mark? If so, it's a bookkeeping mistake, which doesn't warrant or require a T.
2) Did the 'indicated starter' become injured/incapacitated/sick during warm-ups? If so, they can be replaced as a starter without penalty.

"Hey coach, #34 is marked as a starter in the book, but she's not on the floor... she's sick, right?" "Huh?" "Just say 'yes', coach (*wink*)" "Oh... yeah, she's sick, but she'll be better in a minute" "Ok."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2015, 11:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by jTheUmp View Post
This is why I always ask the coaches to double-check the book as part of my pregame meeting (and why my pregame meeting ends before the 10-minute mark).

A couple of things you need to try to figure out:
1) was the correct information supplied to the table prior to the 10-minute mark? If so, it's a bookkeeping mistake, which doesn't warrant or require a T.
2) Did the 'indicated starter' become injured/incapacitated/sick during warm-ups? If so, they can be replaced as a starter without penalty.

"Hey coach, #34 is marked as a starter in the book, but she's not on the floor... she's sick, right?" "Huh?" "Just say 'yes', coach (*wink*)" "Oh... yeah, she's sick, but she'll be better in a minute" "Ok."
In the situation from last night, there was no pregame conference...
Also, and I hate when coaches do this, a student manager filled out the visitor's roster in the official book.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2015, 11:45am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by jTheUmp View Post
...

"Hey coach, #34 is marked as a starter in the book, but she's not on the floor... she's sick, right?" "Huh?" "Just say 'yes', coach (*wink*)" "Oh... yeah, she's sick, but she'll be better in a minute" "Ok."
Even if the coach made a mistake, he has the opportunity to put the correct starter in the game without penalty.

Basically, the penalty for incorrect starters will only occur if the coach is notified of the incorrect starter prior to tip-off and decides to accept the penalty instead of putting the correct starter on the court.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2015, 10:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 734
Quote:
Originally Posted by jTheUmp View Post
"Hey coach, #34 is marked as a starter in the book, but she's not on the floor... she's sick, right?" "Huh?" "Just say 'yes', coach (*wink*)" "Oh... yeah, she's sick, but she'll be better in a minute" "Ok."
Why would you MSU when there is a casebook play squarely on point and the coach can simply put the proper starter in?

And I'm not sure why asking a coach to lie would be a good way to start out the game.

Very bad advice IMO.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scorer's Table jrdavidson Basketball 25 Sat Jan 26, 2013 07:34pm
Returning the ball to the scorer's table fiasco Basketball 33 Sun Jan 24, 2010 10:38pm
Using the Table Crew gsf23 Basketball 16 Sun Jan 03, 2010 09:14am
Fantastic Table Crew! ChuckElias Basketball 3 Sun Jan 16, 2005 11:31pm
Elevated Scorer's Table gostars Basketball 8 Fri Dec 03, 2004 04:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1