Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Learned something new today. Here is the case play in regards of when to penalize for incorrect starter being designated:
3.2.2 SITUATION F:
Team A designates No. 32 as a starter by the 10-minute timeframe prior to the game. In (a), as the teams take the floor for the opening jump ball, the scorer recognizes that No. 34 is on court instead of No. 32 for Team A and notifies the officials. In (b), following about two minutes of play in the first quarter, a time-out is called. The scorer notifies the officials that although Team A No. 32 was a designated starter, No. 34 started instead and is still in the game.
RULING: In (a), if Team A’s coach replaces No. 34 for the correct designated starter, No. 32, no penalty is assessed. If Team A’s coach elects to start the game with No. 34 instead of No. 32, a technical foul is assessed to Team A for changing a designated starter. In (b), no penalty is assessed. The infraction had to be discovered and penalized before the ball became live to start the game. Once the ball became live, it was too late to penalize for this specific infraction. (3-2-2a; 10-1-2a Penalty)
|
I thought that was the case but I wasn't sure. Thanks for the info BNR.
With that in mind, let me ask this follow up question. What should the table do in this situation - if we are sure of the rule?
Please understand I am NOT asking this question in an attempt to be a referee at the table - should the table (sort of quietly ask) the referee are they sure of the procedure in this situation?