The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 18, 2015, 08:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
i hear what your saying but i think rules require the touch.
Nope. We've had this conversation on the forum several times. The rule for a dribble does not require the ball to be touched after pushing it to the floor.

4.15.4 SITUATION A:

As dribbler A1 attempts to change directions to avoid guard B1, he/she allows the ball to come to rest in one hand in bringing the ball from the right to the left side of the body. A1 pushes the ball to the floor in an attempt to continue the dribble.

RULING: When A1 palmed/carried the ball, the dribble ended and when he/she pushed the ball to the floor a violation occurred. (9-5)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 18, 2015, 09:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
RULING: When A1 palmed/carried the ball, the dribble ended and when he/she pushed the ball to the floor a violation occurred. (9-5)
Well question comes down to how do you determine if it's a Dribble, Pass, Dropped ball & how often would the refs treat such scenarios as a start of a dribble unless the player went & touch/bounce the ball again after ended his dribble. But of course due to the rules being written in black & white, it's technically possible to call any missed bounce pass as a start of a "dribble".

Wouldn't you consider how the play goes & how A1 reacts after he dropped the ball on the floor, and immediately calls for a double dribble the moment the ball bounces on the floor, in this case?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 22, 2015, 09:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Nope. We've had this conversation on the forum several times. The rule for a dribble does not require the ball to be touched after pushing it to the floor.

4.15.4 SITUATION A:

As dribbler A1 attempts to change directions to avoid guard B1, he/she allows the ball to come to rest in one hand in bringing the ball from the right to the left side of the body. A1 pushes the ball to the floor in an attempt to continue the dribble.

RULING: When A1 palmed/carried the ball, the dribble ended and when he/she pushed the ball to the floor a violation occurred. (9-5)
Sorry, i lost track of this thread when they were talking about throwing ball off official.
I agree with your statement above about a DRIBBLE not requiring a touch after pushing it to the floor. that is clearly what the case play you set forth says. however, the OP involves TRAVEL violation 4-44-3/ and 9-4. even though the language used in the case book play i cited says illegal dribble it is travel. that is where the violation is listed in the rules. the case book play i cited 4.44.3 something has virtually the same facts as the OP and requires the player who drops the ball to touch it before there is a violation. here is how I reconcile the two plays.

In your play above, the player has dribbled, ended a dribble by letting ball rest on hand and then pushed it to floor again. when this player pushes ball to floor after leting it rest on his hand he HAS A PIVOT FOOT so he meets the defintion of when a DRIBBLE begins--that being ball pushed to floor etc while pivot foot on floor. i agree with camron, just another and you that judgment is required but if he pushes ball down, like he has done a thousand times before and im 150% sure i will call illegal dribble- 9-5 --he has dribbled again. it is a violation without him touching it again.

in the OP and the 4.44.3, play the player jumps, has both feet off of the floor and drops it to the floor. that play says he has to be first to touch it for a violation. Why? because when he jumps in the air and drops it he does so after pivot foot has been lifted. that action does not meet the definition of when a dribble begins in 4-15. it isnt a dribble at all. as the 4.44.3 play says after the drop subsequent rules apply. the touch makes it travel. confusion is created in the play by using the term "illegal dribble." but as you see, that violation is contained in the travel rule.

so in summary, my position is that the 4-15 play is correct because the player does push ball to floor with pivot foot on ground a second time. it is described as "to continue the dribble." that is the 150% sure scenario for me. the subsequent touch is not necessary to call 9-5, illegal dribble.--- the 4.44.3 case play is correct because that player, in the air, drops it after both feet in air. that act does not meet the definition of when a DRIBBLE BEGINS in 4-15. if, that player, as in case play, is first to touch it, it is TRAVEL. 4-44-3 and 9-4.

Perhaps i am all wrong. if i am, please let me know politely. not because i cant handle your sarcasm, but because i fear, when you do that to folks, others may avoid the discussion because they dont want to be ripped. That IS the best advice I can give. AND...if i'm correct on the above...i wont send you back to freshman ball....like you did Bryan...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shooter Draws Foul (Video) APG Basketball 39 Fri Nov 07, 2014 08:13pm
Video Request Indiana Miami: Foul causes a travel (Video Added) Sharpshooternes Basketball 12 Fri May 24, 2013 04:44pm
Travel or Not (with video) OrStBballRef Basketball 19 Fri Apr 20, 2012 03:04pm
Video: Not a travel in NBA, but would you call this a travel in HS or NCAA jump stop Basketball 52 Sun Apr 08, 2012 12:19pm
Did she travel or not ? ( video ) christianH Basketball 7 Sat Aug 16, 2008 11:24am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1