The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 18, 2015, 04:47pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
This looks like a blocked shot on some level. It does look like he was trying to adjust his shot and probably changed his mind, but I think the defender touched the ball which I would have no violation in that case. At least that is by the angle we are seeing.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 18, 2015, 06:19pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Violation. Even if he did touch the ball, and it's hard to say from this angle, the touch definitely didn't prevent the release.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 18, 2015, 07:29pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Violation. Even if he did touch the ball, and it's hard to say from this angle, the touch definitely didn't prevent the release.
I thought you wouldn't call a violation if another teammate was in the area?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Mon Jan 19, 2015 at 02:05am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 18, 2015, 08:45pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I thought you wouldn't call a violation of another teammate was in the area?

I wouldn't call it immediately if a teammate was in the area. But he was the first to touch, which seals the deal no matter what.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 18, 2015, 09:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
I wouldn't call it immediately if a teammate was in the area. But he was the first to touch, which seals the deal no matter what.
but not on the 1st page. i have edited it after seeing the video and added comments before you posted though...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 19, 2015, 02:11am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
I wouldn't call it immediately if a teammate was in the area. But he was the first to touch, which seals the deal no matter what.
He wasn't the first to touch. The defender got his hand underneath and got to the ball first.

Obviously if A1 is the first to touch, it's a travel.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 19, 2015, 04:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
He wasn't the first to touch. The defender got his hand underneath and got to the ball first.

Obviously if A1 is the first to touch, it's a travel.
isn't it a double dribble? by dropping the ball and being the 1st touch the ball after the drop.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 19, 2015, 03:16pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
The defender got his hand underneath and got to the ball first.
I missed it.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 19, 2015, 03:27pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Here's the deal, for those who haven't heard it before. As cited earlier by Nevada, when a dribble is illegal it occurs when the ball is pushed to the floor.

4.15.4 SITUATION A:

As dribbler A1 attempts to change directions to avoid guard B1, he/she allows the ball to come to rest in one hand in bringing the ball from the right to the left side of the body. A1 pushes the ball to the floor in an attempt to continue the dribble.

RULING: When A1 palmed/carried the ball, the dribble ended and when he/she pushed the ball to the floor a violation occurred. (9-5)


People say you can't judge intent. You can judge intent. We do it all the time on fouls. Two shots? Worst case scenario is this. A1 goes up to shoot, sees his shot will be blocked and drops the ball straight to the floor. He then assumes an aggressive stance and tries to screen the defender away from the ball while yelling to his teammate: "Hey, A2! Come get the ball. I can't touch it!" B1 then takes a swipe at the ball and knocks it out of bounds. If you didn't call the violation immediately, you give the ball back to Team A. I think this is wrong.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 18, 2015, 07:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Violation. Even if he did touch the ball, and it's hard to say from this angle, the touch definitely didn't prevent the release.
Agree...touch is not enough to make it legal, the touch has to prevent the release....as in a held ball. You don't call a held ball just because opposing teams touch the ball at the same time.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 18, 2015, 07:41pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Agree...touch is not enough to make it legal, the touch has to prevent the release....as in a held ball. You don't call a held ball just because opposing teams touch the ball at the same time.
NCAA rules are different. They have to come back to the floor with the ball unlike the NF rule to have a held ball.

Again, I see this as a blocked shot more than anything. It does look like the shooter tried to change something mid-air but it appears the ball was still kind of knocked out of his hand. If I had any doubt, that is what I would go with an not call a violation. But I am willing to go with a violation if I see a better angle or closer slow-motion view.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shooter Draws Foul (Video) APG Basketball 39 Fri Nov 07, 2014 08:13pm
Video Request Indiana Miami: Foul causes a travel (Video Added) Sharpshooternes Basketball 12 Fri May 24, 2013 04:44pm
Travel or Not (with video) OrStBballRef Basketball 19 Fri Apr 20, 2012 03:04pm
Video: Not a travel in NBA, but would you call this a travel in HS or NCAA jump stop Basketball 52 Sun Apr 08, 2012 12:19pm
Did she travel or not ? ( video ) christianH Basketball 7 Sat Aug 16, 2008 11:24am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1