The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 10, 2014, 01:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: St. Louis Metro
Posts: 11
Add-on Discussion to Sleeves

Had this situation in a G-V game.

After the captains meeting where both coaches acknowledged that their players were properly/legally uniformed, I notice A1 wearing white padded leg sleeves and A2/A3 Wearing Black padded leg sleeves. I notify A-Coach and tell him someone needs to take off their sleeves, as they all have to match. He proceeds to tell me that the A1 sleeve is really a "brace" and is ok to wear. I tell him that a sleeve is not a brace and someone has to take their sleeves off to match. End of conversation. I relay the conversation to the R.

During player introductions, A-Coach approaches the R and asks about the sleeve rule. R says the same thing and that players will not be allowed to play unless they all match colors. End of conversation

A-Coach sends his 5 starters to the court to begin the game, including A1,A2,A3.
The R wacks the coach for illegal uniforms and not having his players legally equipped.

Game starts with FTs, A-Coach approaches R and states that if he would have known he would have been T'd, he would have made them change.

During the FTs for the T, A2/A3 remove their sleeves and are ready to play when we inbound the ball.

So, was the T warranted or should we have held up the game to allow the players to remove sleeves etc?

Thoughts/comments?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 10, 2014, 01:16am
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
No the T isn't warranted (for the simple fact of the players wearing the sleeves). Sleeves are considered equipment and apparel and not the uniform. The penalty for not conforming with the restrictions in this section is the player is either not allowed in the game or is taken out of the game.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 10, 2014, 01:18am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,641
I believe it is only a T for illegal jerseys.

Now, if you want to say the T was for turning the game into an action-less contest, or unsporting behavior by the coach for being an a$$, I'm good with that.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 10, 2014, 03:34am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,733
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I believe it is only a T for illegal jerseys.

Now, if you want to say the T was for turning the game into an action-less contest, or unsporting behavior by the coach for being an a$$, I'm good with that.

BNR:

Great call.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 10, 2014, 08:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
As was stated, no, the T isn't warranted.

Quote:
*3.5.3 SITUATION B:

Substitute A6 reports to enter the game to replace A1. A5 is wearing a beige compression sleeve on his/her arm and leg. A6 is wearing a black leg compression sleeve.

RULING: A6 is not allowed to enter because the rule requires all teammates to wear the same color sleeves. No penalty is involved. A6 simply cannot participate until the color restriction is corrected. (3-5-3)
As for this...

Quote:
Originally Posted by saluki34 View Post
I notify A-Coach and tell him someone needs to take off their sleeves
...don't tell the coach or player that a player has to take off the sleeve. Tell them they can't play if they wear it. You don't want to be in a situation where you're telling a player to remove an item that's protecting an injury.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 10, 2014, 09:55am
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,466
And you can tell that coach, that per the NFHS, a brace is an item that has straps and/or hinges, or has a hole for the kneecap. Doesn't sound like the item this player was wearing fits that description.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 10, 2014, 10:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: St. Louis Metro
Posts: 11
The "Brace" was nothing more than a padded knee sleeve, with no hole for kneecap or any bracing or straps.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 10, 2014, 02:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
No the T isn't warranted (for the simple fact of the players wearing the sleeves). Sleeves are considered equipment and apparel and not the uniform. The penalty for not conforming with the restrictions in this section is the player is either not allowed in the game or is taken out of the game.
Correct, and as previously discussed on this forum a few days ago, the only warranted technical foul in a case involving the equipment of starters is if they delay the start of the half by more than one minute.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 10, 2014, 04:55pm
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 963
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Correct, and as previously discussed on this forum a few days ago, the only warranted technical foul in a case involving the equipment of starters is if they delay the start of the half by more than one minute.
Is the coach allowed to change starters without penalty to conform to the sleeve rule, for example if the players refuse to remove mismatched sleeves?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 10, 2014, 05:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes View Post
Is the coach allowed to change starters without penalty to conform to the sleeve rule, for example if the players refuse to remove mismatched sleeves?
Hint: What does rule 3-2-2a say?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Arm & Leg Compression Sleeves referee99 Basketball 23 Wed Nov 20, 2013 06:20pm
Sleeves and undergarments Scrapper1 Basketball 0 Mon Sep 16, 2013 10:15am
sleeves Oklahoma official Baseball 12 Fri Apr 20, 2012 03:15pm
Sleeves Johnny Ringo Basketball 2 Mon Dec 07, 2009 12:45am
Shooting sleeves todd66 Basketball 19 Wed Aug 27, 2008 05:45am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1