Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Nov 14, 2014, 05:54pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by kstiles99 View Post
Agreed, but this is my first year as an official... And I'm 16 :/

Coaches do not have any problems giving me the business up and down the court. If I T 'em for this every time, there won't be any coaches on the floor, and my assignors will take notice, give me grief, and probably pull my assignments.

On the other hand, If I let bench personnel walk all over me, my games quickly turn to crap. It's hard being a rookie
Find a mentor who can help you with this issue -- you're right it's hard. What you need is tools that work for you in between nothing and the T. Different referees use different tools -- warning looks, stop signs, "that's enough," "coach, please let it go." Different tools work for different referees - and what works for the 60-year-old vet ain't necessarily gonna work for you. But there are tools out there you can use so that when you whack the coach he knows he earned it.

(I was an 11 year old soccer referee many, many moons ago, so I get where you are coming from -- I tossed a coach when I was 12 . . . I also did basketball as a teenager but that was in a church school league that didn't really have a lot of coach issues, so I don't have a great tool set to share -- soccer control tools can be a bit different due to the difference in the setting.)
Old Fri Nov 14, 2014, 06:25pm
Courageous When Prudent

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
Why would ANYONE take crap in a scrimmage where they aren't being paid? We're doing them a favor.
To give back and show I'm not above it all.

I believe my HS associations contracts are written that schools are afforded a set amount of free scrimmages.
Old Fri Nov 14, 2014, 07:00pm
9/11 - Never Forget

Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar