The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 07, 2007, 11:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 153
Question Shooting Foul with Technical Foul / How Many FTs?

I have seen two very similar situations in varsity boys' games following my work in the JV contests. Actually, on back to back nights.

(1) Team A inbounds the pass and is bringing the ball up the court. Player B1 fouls Player A1 in an effort to stop the clock. After the play is dead, Player B2 and Player A1 get into a scuffle and are charged with a Double Technical situation. --- The original foul to stop the clock was team foul 10. No free throws were awarded for this original foul call, Team A was just given the ball for a throw-in from the Double T at the point of interruption. Is this right, no FT for the original foul?

(2) Player A1 is fouled in the act of shooting by B1. During the dead ball and reporting of the foul Coach B is issued a technical foul for unsporting behavior. --- Player A1 gets his two free throws for the shooting foul, but no FT are awarded for the Tech on B's Coach. Team A was given the ball for a throw in at the division line. --- Should Team A have shot 2 more shots?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 07, 2007, 11:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 106
1. A1 should have been given 2 free throws for the orginal foul by B1.

2. Team A should have shot 2 additional free throws for the T on coach B.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 07, 2007, 11:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 153
That is exactly how I thought it should have been handled.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 07, 2007, 08:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,435
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgncjn
I have seen two very similar situations in varsity boys' games following my work in the JV contests. Actually, on back to back nights.

(1) Team A inbounds the pass and is bringing the ball up the court. Player B1 fouls Player A1 in an effort to stop the clock. After the play is dead, Player B2 and Player A1 get into a scuffle and are charged with a Double Technical situation. --- The original foul to stop the clock was team foul 10. No free throws were awarded for this original foul call, Team A was just given the ball for a throw-in from the Double T at the point of interruption. Is this right, no FT for the original foul?

(2) Player A1 is fouled in the act of shooting by B1. During the dead ball and reporting of the foul Coach B is issued a technical foul for unsporting behavior. --- Player A1 gets his two free throws for the shooting foul, but no FT are awarded for the Tech on B's Coach. Team A was given the ball for a throw in at the division line. --- Should Team A have shot 2 more shots?
1. The POI is the awarding of the merited FTs for A1, not a throw-in.
2. Yes.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 07, 2007, 09:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Varsity, this scenerio makes you say HMM!
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 08, 2007, 03:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tahlequah, OK
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgncjn
I have seen two very similar situations in varsity boys' games following my work in the JV contests. Actually, on back to back nights.

(1) Team A inbounds the pass and is bringing the ball up the court. Player B1 fouls Player A1 in an effort to stop the clock. After the play is dead, Player B2 and Player A1 get into a scuffle and are charged with a Double Technical situation. --- The original foul to stop the clock was team foul 10. No free throws were awarded for this original foul call, Team A was just given the ball for a throw-in from the Double T at the point of interruption. Is this right, no FT for the original foul?

(2) Player A1 is fouled in the act of shooting by B1. During the dead ball and reporting of the foul Coach B is issued a technical foul for unsporting behavior. --- Player A1 gets his two free throws for the shooting foul, but no FT are awarded for the Tech on B's Coach. Team A was given the ball for a throw in at the division line. --- Should Team A have shot 2 more shots?
1. A1 should have shot two free-throws.
2. A1 should have shot two free-throws with the free-throw lane spaces unoccupied, followed by a player from team A shooting the two free-throws for the technical foul by the coach of team B. Play should have resumed with a division-line throw-in by team A.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Personal Foul, then Technical Foul jdw3018 Basketball 7 Sat Dec 02, 2006 05:35am
Shooting Foul & Technical - Free Throw Shooting? brightstripes54 Basketball 10 Tue Feb 15, 2005 12:56pm
[NF] Technical & personal "shooting" foul administration LukeZ Basketball 4 Tue Dec 02, 2003 06:23am
Technical foul during free throw shooting bluehen Basketball 2 Wed Mar 22, 2000 11:02am
Foul shooting John Choiniere Basketball 2 Mon Dec 20, 1999 02:19am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1