The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 28, 2013, 03:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Shots on Intentional foul/Technical foul

Having a brain fart again and have seen it done several ways and don't have direct access to a rule book.

A1 driving to basket on a layup while in flight B1 pushes from behind. Basket doesn't go in. How many shots are awarded for A1 and the ball goes out at POI?

Also, simliar type play. A1 drives to basket, B1 pushes from behind then A1 gets up and pushes B back. Intentional foul on B1, Technical foul on A1. Basket was no good...having a huge brain fart rite now. Any help appreciated...

Last edited by refd; Mon Jan 28, 2013 at 03:22pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 28, 2013, 03:19pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,137
One the first play not sure what you are considering this foul to actually be. By all accounts it can only be at most an intentional foul. If that is the case you give 2 FTs and the ball.

One the second play you shoot everything in the order it took place. And you give the ball to the offended team on the T because it happened last.

Shots being made have little to do with these plays if you are using NF Rules and have nothing to do with POI. All that would matter is how many shots.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 28, 2013, 03:20pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 12,710
You haven't said what type of foul occurred in scenario #1.

In scenario #2 each foul carries it's own penalty and free throws are shot in order of occurrence. Throw-in goes to last team that was fouled.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 28, 2013, 03:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Scenario 1 is an intentional foul. Thanks for your help. I just wasn't sure if the shot went in or not if it mattered. But it doesn't matter because its an Intentional foul and not control.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 28, 2013, 03:41pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by refd View Post
Scenario 1 is an intentional foul. Thanks for your help. I just wasn't sure if the shot went in or not if it mattered. But it doesn't matter because its an Intentional foul and not control.
The basket is going to count if the ball is in the air no matter what if the ball goes through the basket. There is no POI for intentional fouls. There are only POI if it is a double foul, double technical or simultaneous fouls.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 28, 2013, 03:46pm
sj sj is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 344
In his second play here who shoots for the intentional technical? Does it have to be B1 or anybody on B? I've hear it argued both ways.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 28, 2013, 03:49pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,356
Any team member can shoot any technical foul free throws. Even if the player is subbed in just for the free throws. Even if a non-starter is subbed in before the start of the game to shoot the free throws.

Who would ever say a particular player has to shoot technical free throws???
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 28, 2013, 03:50pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 12,710
Quote:
Originally Posted by sj View Post
In his second play here who shoots for the intentional technical? Does it have to be B1 or anybody on B? I've hear it argued both ways.
By whom? Based on what rule?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 28, 2013, 03:53pm
sj sj is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 344
The reasoning was that it was the player who was contacted that would shoot. In this case B1. No real support for it but it's what he thought.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 28, 2013, 03:57pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,356
Quote:
Originally Posted by refd View Post
A1 driving to basket on a layup while in flight B1 pushes from behind. Basket doesn't go in. How many shots are awarded for A1 and the ball goes out at POI?
All the answers you've gotten are correct. I'm just going to add some detail that may help you understand going forward. If it doesn't help, I won't be offended.

First thing to remember is that intentional fouls are always 2 shots and possession of the ball at the spot closest to the foul, whether it's during a try or not, whether the try goes in or not. There's no "and-1" with an intentional foul; it's just 2 shots and the ball. The only exception is if a player is intentionally fouled during an unsuccessful 3-point try. In that case, the offended player shoots 3 free throws. But other than that one case, you're going to give two free throws to the fouled player, regardless of what else happens.

Second thing, as JRutledge has pointed out, is that POI plays no part in an intentional foul administration. Possession of the ball is always part of the penalty. In your case, if you use the POI, you get a very unfair result. You have an interruption during a try (no more team control) that is unsuccessful. If you go to the point of interruption, you have to use the possession arrow, which could easily give the ball to the team that committed the intentional foul! Not a good outcome.

So don't think in terms of POI when dealing with intentional fouls. Just think 2 free throws to player who was fouled, and possession of the ball to that player's team at the spot closest to where the foul occurred.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 28, 2013, 04:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
The basket is going to count if the ball is in the air no matter what if the ball goes through the basket.
... or if the try has started (it's treated just like any other personal foul for the purpose of counting the basket).
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 28, 2013, 04:14pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
... or if the try has started (it's treated just like any other personal foul for the purpose of counting the basket).
Absolutely.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 28, 2013, 04:54pm
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by sj View Post
In his second play here who shoots for the intentional technical? Does it have to be B1 or anybody on B? I've hear it argued both ways.
There isn't one rule set that would mandate that B1 would have to shoot the technical foul shots.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 29, 2013, 08:35am
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 948
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
There isn't one rule set that would mandate that B1 would have to shoot the technical foul shots.
He asked about intentional fouls not technical fouls.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 29, 2013, 08:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes View Post
He asked about intentional fouls not technical fouls.
I believe the last situation in the OP involves a technical foul.
__________________
Dutch basketball ref
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intentional Technical Foul jdmara Basketball 42 Wed Jan 14, 2009 09:17pm
Who can shoot Technical Foul shots? HawkeyeCubP Basketball 4 Wed Feb 15, 2006 07:17pm
6 Technical fouls and an intentional foul jritchie Basketball 16 Mon Feb 28, 2005 09:20am
Technical Foul Shots Bizket786 Basketball 8 Fri Feb 25, 2005 11:51am
2 or 3 shots - Intentional Foul hoopsrefBC Basketball 9 Sat Nov 18, 2000 10:36pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1