The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 05, 2014, 03:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Yes, it does.
Huh? So ... you have a BC violation in the OP????

2 people touching it doesn't give the ball FC status until after the ball is possessed in bounds. The ball in the OP has not yet been possessed inbounds - no TC yet... so the touchings don't mean anything.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 05, 2014, 03:27pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Huh? So ... you have a BC violation in the OP????

2 people touching it doesn't give the ball FC status until after the ball is possessed in bounds. The ball in the OP has not yet been possessed inbounds - no TC yet... so the touchings don't mean anything.
The ball can have FC status without team control by either team.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 05, 2014, 04:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
The ball can have FC status without team control by either team.
Agree. It definitely has FC status by merely being touched in the FC or by even touching the floor in the FC. That is always true regardless of team control and other rules.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 05, 2014, 06:30pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Agree. It definitely has FC status by merely being touched in the FC or by even touching the floor in the FC. That is always true regardless of team control and other rules.
I disagree. Without team control, there is no FC or BC. The terms are defined on the basis of which team is in control of the ball.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 05, 2014, 06:38pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
I disagree. Without team control, there is no FC or BC. The terms are defined on the basis of which team is in control of the ball.
A shoots and misses. Rebound is tapped out, and bounces several times before being grabbed out of the air by A1 who leapt from his FC and lands in his BC. Is this a violation?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 05, 2014, 07:41pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,381
Easy Peasey Lemon Squeezy (With No Throwin) ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
A shoots and misses. Rebound is tapped out, and bounces several times before being grabbed out of the air by A1 who leapt from his FC and lands in his BC. Is this a violation?
Yes. The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control (and initial player control
when coming from a throw-in); the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must
be the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after
the ball has been in the backcourt.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 05, 2014, 08:02pm
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
What if we change "frontcourt status" to "frontcourt location"? Does that make the ruling easier to digest?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 05, 2014, 09:22pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Yes. The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control (and initial player control
when coming from a throw-in); the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must
be the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after
the ball has been in the backcourt.
I know it is. This was the whole point, that this is an example of the ball having frontcourt status with no team control by either side.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 05, 2014, 07:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
I disagree. Without team control, there is no FC or BC. The terms are defined on the basis of which team is in control of the ball.
I believe both exist at all times relative to the direction the teams are going without regard to team control. But, FC/BC status only has relevance at certain times.

Teams A's frontcourt is still team A's frontcourt even when team B has the ball....it just happens to be team B's backcourt too.

Many of the case plays support this view as well when they mention a defensive player jumping from their FC or BC and catching the ball in the air. This implies that FC/BC exist for the team not in control as well.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Wed Mar 05, 2014 at 07:06pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 05, 2014, 04:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Huh? So ... you have a BC violation in the OP????
No, I don't; and that's not what I said.

Quote:
2 people touching it doesn't give the ball FC status until after the ball is possessed in bounds.
4 things needed.

1) PC inbounds (and then no loss of TC)
2) Ball has FC status
3) A last to touch before ball goes to BC
4) A first to touch after ball goes to BC

(with the throw-in, jump ball and defense exceptions)

The OP has items 2, 3, 4, but not 1.

(And according to the dis-liked FED interp, 3 and 4 can happen at the same time).
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 05, 2014, 04:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 671
Had a great example of what we are all talking about here this weekend. A1 dribbling in BC, just before half court line she fumbles the ball forward into the FC, A2 tips it from FC into BC where A1 recovers it. Back court call was made, A coach goes nuts, calls both officials idiots and gets a T.

Then on ensuing T, team B had a bench player come in to shoot the technical FTs, and the A coach really lost it.

I was not on this crew, I was watching, but still found it humerous.

The crew got both of these calls correct didn't they? From my understanding they did, but thought I would check.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 05, 2014, 04:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by ballgame99 View Post
Had a great example of what we are all talking about here this weekend. A1 dribbling in BC, just before half court line she fumbles the ball forward into the FC, A2 tips it from FC into BC where A1 recovers it. Back court call was made, A coach goes nuts, calls both officials idiots and gets a T.

Then on ensuing T, team B had a bench player come in to shoot the technical FTs, and the A coach really lost it.

I was not on this crew, I was watching, but still found it humerous.

The crew got both of these calls correct didn't they? From my understanding they did, but thought I would check.
Sounds like it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fumble on throw in and free throw billyu2 Basketball 9 Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:33pm
Throw or try ? letemplay Basketball 7 Thu Dec 13, 2012 07:22pm
throw-in after double personal during free throw closetotheedge Basketball 26 Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1