The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 24, 2014, 12:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2
Question Unusual situation

I am a first year official and had an unusual situation happen in a game Friday. Both teams were coming out of a timeout. As we come out of the timeout, we count 10 players (5 from each team) on the court and deem the ball ready for play. At that time, a player from the blue team sits down on the bench.

The ball was handed to the white team (W1) and inbounded to his teammate (W2). As this point, the blue coach realizes he only has four players on the court and screams for a timeout. The timeout is not rewarded and the game continues. The white team attempts a shot and misses, but they get the rebound and start their offense over again. At this point, the blue coach grabs a player (B5) and sends B5 into the game on defense without checking in at the table.

The game was stopped, and the other official I was working with deemed it an "illegal substitution" and assessed the blue team a technical foul. Is this the correct call?

If all five players don't come onto the court after a timeout, you can inbound the ball to the white team and five guys can rush onto the court for defense without anything being called. Shouldn't the illegal substitution only be called had B5 gone in during the offensive possession?

White team was given two technical foul free throws and also given possession of the ball while the blue coach still maintained he had done no wrong.

Any clarification?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 24, 2014, 12:16pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Was B5 one of the ten players on the court when you started?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 24, 2014, 12:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2
B5 had already entered game earlier. B5 was not one of the original 5 on the court coming out of time-out, but had entered the game earlier.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 24, 2014, 12:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,848
Quote:
Originally Posted by gfrederking View Post
I am a first year official and had an unusual situation happen in a game Friday. Both teams were coming out of a timeout. As we come out of the timeout, we count 10 players (5 from each team) on the court and deem the ball ready for play. At that time, a player from the blue team sits down on the bench.
If you recognized this before the ball was handed to W, then you should fix it then.

Otherwise, see 10.1.9 (and compare it to 10.3.2).
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 24, 2014, 12:59pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by gfrederking View Post
B5 had already entered game earlier. B5 was not one of the original 5 on the court coming out of time-out, but had entered the game earlier.
Then this was called correctly. B5 is not in the game... he can't just rush in. And you can't make a substitution by having one of your 5 sit, and then sending someone else into the game.

If B5 had been one of the 5 on the court (i.e. HE was the one who erroneously left the court and sat down), and they weren't (in the referee's opinion) doing this to gain an advantage or trick the other team - they should have simply played on.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 24, 2014, 05:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,271
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Then this was called correctly. B5 is not in the game... he can't just rush in. And you can't make a substitution by having one of your 5 sit, and then sending someone else into the game.

If B5 had been one of the 5 on the court (i.e. HE was the one who erroneously left the court and sat down), and they weren't (in the referee's opinion) doing this to gain an advantage or trick the other team - they should have simply played on.
Which is a terrible ruling from the NFHS.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 24, 2014, 05:48pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,611
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Which is a terrible ruling from the NFHS.
Why?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 24, 2014, 05:52pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Which is a terrible ruling from the NFHS.
I agree with you, even if I think that starting with a number other than 10 is really something that shouldn't happen.

How am I supposed to know if a random player coming off the bench is a player that was in the game or not in the game at that particular time?

And there's no way that a scorer is going to be on the ball to know the difference. If a player comes in and it seems to meet this criteria, I'm not stopping play -- they might just get away with one.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 24, 2014, 05:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,271
This isn't hockey.

Rich pointed out how this will normally cause confusion as most scorers don't keep track of which five are currently in the game.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 24, 2014, 06:01pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,611
Okay, I'll buy that.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 24, 2014, 06:10pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 16,806
A Line Change ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
10.1.9 ... 10.3.2.
10.1.9 SITUATION: Following a charged time-out Team B is still with their
coach on the sideline when the official sounds the whistle to indicate play will
resume. Four players of B return to the court just in time to play defense as A1
attempts an unsuccessful three-pointer. B1 rebounds and throws a long pass to
B5 who enters the court just in time to catch the pass. RULING: A technical foul
is immediately charged to Team B for failing to have all players return to the court
at approximately the same time following a time-out or intermission. While it is
true the entire team may be off the court while the procedure is being used, once
a team responds, all players must enter the court at approximately the same time.

10.3.2 SITUATION B: After a lengthy substitution process involving multiple
substitutions for both Team A and Team B, A5 goes to the bench and remains
there, mistakenly believing he/she has been replaced. The ball is put in play even
though Team A has only four players on the court. Team A is bringing the ball into
As frontcourt when the coach of Team A realizes they have only four players. The
coach yells for A5 to return and he/she sprints directly onto the court and catches
up with the play. RULING: No technical foul is charged to A5. A5s return to
the court was not deceitful, nor did it provide A5 an unfair positioning advantage
on the court.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 24, 2014, 08:33pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
10.1.9 SITUATION: Following a charged time-out Team B is still with their
coach on the sideline when the official sounds the whistle to indicate play will
resume. Four players of B return to the court just in time to play defense as A1
attempts an unsuccessful three-pointer. B1 rebounds and throws a long pass to
B5 who enters the court just in time to catch the pass. RULING: A technical foul
is immediately charged to Team B for failing to have all players return to the court
at approximately the same time following a time-out or intermission. While it is
true the entire team may be off the court while the procedure is being used, once
a team responds, all players must enter the court at approximately the same time.

10.3.2 SITUATION B: After a lengthy substitution process involving multiple
substitutions for both Team A and Team B, A5 goes to the bench and remains
there, mistakenly believing he/she has been replaced. The ball is put in play even
though Team A has only four players on the court. Team A is bringing the ball into
As frontcourt when the coach of Team A realizes they have only four players. The
coach yells for A5 to return and he/she sprints directly onto the court and catches
up with the play. RULING: No technical foul is charged to A5. A5s return to
the court was not deceitful, nor did it provide A5 an unfair positioning advantage
on the court.
The OP is a mix of the two situations, if B5 had been one of the five playing prior to the timeout (or had reported prior to the first horn).

Since the OP involved a sub who had not reported running onto the court, it's a technical foul. No different than if, during the course of play no where near a timeout, B5 had just decided to sit down because he was tired of the coach's (or the officials') BS and the coach proceeded to send B6 into the game.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 24, 2014, 10:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Then this was called correctly. B5 is not in the game... he can't just rush in. And you can't make a substitution by having one of your 5 sit, and then sending someone else into the game.

If B5 had been one of the 5 on the court (i.e. HE was the one who erroneously left the court and sat down), and they weren't (in the referee's opinion) doing this to gain an advantage or trick the other team - they should have simply played on.
Had a similar situation last year. Team A only had 5 players. At one point during play, the coach from team A took one player aside sat her down and was instructing her. We let play go on. She came back in after the next whistle. A little while later the same girl drove to the basket, got fouled and sprained her ankle real bad--she had to be taken out of the game. Since there were no subs to come in to shoot the ft's who do you suppose, by rule, gets to shoot those free throws?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 24, 2014, 10:21pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by stick View Post
Had a similar situation last year. Team A only had 5 players. At one point during play, the coach from team A took one player aside sat her down and was instructing her.
He doesn't get to do this (stringency may be determined by game level).

Quote:
Originally Posted by stick View Post
We let play go on. She came back in after the next whistle. A little while later the same girl drove to the basket, got fouled and sprained her ankle real bad--she had to be taken out of the game. Since there were no subs to come in to shoot the ft's who do you suppose, by rule, gets to shoot those free throws?
I'll bet the opposing coach wanted to pick.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 25, 2014, 11:21am
Often wrong never n doubt
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
He doesn't get to do this (stringency may be determined by game level).

Why can he not do this?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
illegal substitution, technical foul, unusual situation

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unusual Sub situation Hardwood Basketball 6 Wed Jan 27, 2010 07:08am
Unusual Situation - Did we get it right? kwv001 Basketball 13 Thu Dec 18, 2008 09:36am
Unusual situation FHSUref Basketball 2 Sat Mar 06, 2004 11:22am
Very "unusual" situation! HELP! VaCoach Basketball 35 Sun Feb 08, 2004 12:00pm
Unusual Situation blacktiger Basketball 13 Tue Jan 16, 2001 09:27am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1