The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 03, 2014, 03:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Defender was there. Offense had the ball. No time/distance required. Charnge.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 03, 2014, 09:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,241
Maybe the official thought the white player had gathered the ball for a try?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 03, 2014, 10:32am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
PC. Time & distance is not required since A3 had the ball.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 03, 2014, 10:51am
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Rule 4-23
ART. 5... Guarding a moving opponent without the ball:
a. Time and distance are factors required to obtain initial legal position.
b. The guard must give the opponent the time and/or distance to avoid contact.
c. The distance need not be more than two strides.

I wouldn't treat the player receiving the ball as "an opponent with the ball", as in Article 4... where time and distance are not factors. By the time he caught and gathered the ball he had no chance to do anything with it (dribble, shoot, pass, or just stop with it), as the defender was less than two steps away.

Perhaps if the defender was within the offensive player's line of sight, then you can say the offensive player had enough of a chance to avoid contact. But since the offensive player was looking back and up at the pass, I would say without reservation that the defender was at fault for the contact.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 03, 2014, 10:55am
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
Rule 4-23
ART. 5... Guarding a moving opponent without the ball:
a. Time and distance are factors required to obtain initial legal position.
b. The guard must give the opponent the time and/or distance to avoid contact.
c. The distance need not be more than two strides.

I wouldn't treat the player receiving the ball as "an opponent with the ball", as in Article 4... where time and distance are not factors. By the time he caught and gathered the ball he had no chance to do anything with it (dribble, shoot, pass, or just stop with it), as the defender was less than two steps away.

Perhaps if the defender was within the offensive player's line of sight, then you can say the offensive player had enough of a chance to avoid contact. But since the offensive player was looking back and up at the pass, I would say without reservation that the defender was at fault for the contact.
Had the offensive player caught the pass before the contact took place?

He obviously had, so then he had the ball and time and distance are not factors.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 03, 2014, 11:02am
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
Had the offensive player caught the pass before the contact took place?

He obviously had, so then he had the ball and time and distance are not factors.
Rule 4-12
ART 1... A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball.

The player is clearly not dribbling the ball at the time of contact, so would you say he is holding it? I wouldn't. Because when I read the dribbling part of the equation, "holding" tells me the player is standing still with the ball... which the player clearly isn't standing still with the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 03, 2014, 11:07am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
Rule 4-12

so would you say he is holding it?
Yes. He firmly possesses it in both of his hands. That's all that is required. You're adding additional criteria that doesn't exist in the rule book.

Like it or not, a player with the ball, no matter how long they have had it, is expected to stop on a dime in this situation.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 03, 2014, 10:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
Rule 4-23
ART. 5... Guarding a moving opponent without the ball:
a. Time and distance are factors required to obtain initial legal position.
b. The guard must give the opponent the time and/or distance to avoid contact.
c. The distance need not be more than two strides.

I wouldn't treat the player receiving the ball as "an opponent with the ball", as in Article 4... where time and distance are not factors. By the time he caught and gathered the ball he had no chance to do anything with it (dribble, shoot, pass, or just stop with it), as the defender was less than two steps away.

Perhaps if the defender was within the offensive player's line of sight, then you can say the offensive player had enough of a chance to avoid contact. But since the offensive player was looking back and up at the pass, I would say without reservation that the defender was at fault for the contact.
So you are saying that you would categorize the player with the ball as an "opponent without the ball". Interesting as with or without the ball is a pretty black or white thing. He either has it or he doesn't. In this case he has it. What does line of sight have to do with anything, I don't think the rule book mentions that exception.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 03, 2014, 11:18am
beware big brother
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illinois
Posts: 996
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
I wouldn't treat the player receiving the ball as "an opponent with the ball", as in Article 4... where time and distance are not factors. By the time he caught and gathered the ball he had no chance to do anything with it (dribble, shoot, pass, or just stop with it), as the defender was less than two steps away.

Perhaps if the defender was within the offensive player's line of sight, then you can say the offensive player had enough of a chance to avoid contact. But since the offensive player was looking back and up at the pass, I would say without reservation that the defender was at fault for the contact.
I have a feeling you have a hard time getting many of these block/charge plays correct in your games. The last two plays you have debated the calls based on rules interpretations that are clearly wrong. The Texas player has the ball, time and distance are irrelevant, it is that simple. I think you are interpreting rules through the prism of your biased belief that the rules favor the defensive player.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 05, 2014, 09:42am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,583
I did not see other comments, but I have a charge.

Defender was in LGP, got to that spot first and prepared for contact.

Once again we penalize defenders for doing nothing wrong or illegal too much.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 03, 2014, 11:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
I wouldn't treat the player receiving the ball as "an opponent with the ball", as in Article 4...
It's this simple... You SHOULD.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 03, 2014, 11:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
I wouldn't treat the player receiving the ball as "an opponent with the ball", as in Article 4... where time and distance are not factors. By the time he caught and gathered the ball he had no chance to do anything with it (dribble, shoot, pass, or just stop with it), as the defender was less than two steps away.
See 10.6.11D (b) -- it's almost this exact play.

The player had the ball -- it's a charge.

Last edited by bob jenkins; Mon Feb 03, 2014 at 12:11pm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 03, 2014, 12:02pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
See 10.6.11 (b) -- it's almost this exact play.

The player had the ball -- it's a charge.
Is that case from the 2013-14 case book? Because 10.6.11 (b) in that case book seems to support my side.

In part a of the situation, the screener (A1) is called for a blocking foul, apparently because A1 is so close that B1 cannot avoid A1 and contact results.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 03, 2014, 12:07pm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: DE
Posts: 226
The play here is NOT a screening play! Block/Charge plays and screening plays are not the same and the same principles DO NOT apply. Two different situations. I don't have my case book handy so I don't know the case play you reference but I am sure others will chime in.

Last edited by walt; Mon Feb 03, 2014 at 12:10pm.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 03, 2014, 12:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
Is that case from the 2013-14 case book? Because 10.6.11 (b) in that case book seems to support my side.

In part a of the situation, the screener (A1) is called for a blocking foul, apparently because A1 is so close that B1 cannot avoid A1 and contact results.
10.6.11D (b). 2012-13 book (what I have handy)

My typo.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SC Top 10 Play--Block, Charge, No Call APG Basketball 17 Mon Dec 23, 2013 03:23pm
Block/Charge Play stiffler3492 Basketball 38 Thu Dec 13, 2012 09:05am
Block/Charge RA Play: Off Rebound APG Basketball 76 Thu May 10, 2012 05:49pm
Block/Charge: RA Play APG Basketball 21 Mon May 07, 2012 03:02pm
Charge and a block on the same play Coach Bill Basketball 33 Thu Jan 24, 2008 04:16pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1