![]() |
Kansas v Texas: Close Block/Charge Play
This play is being discussed in the Facebook group...close play...what say you?
<iframe width="640" height="480" src="//www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/vagq4wiSw18" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> |
I have a charge. Not that close, really, just happened quickly. Tie goes to the offense, even when it's not a tie.
|
Defender was there. Offense had the ball. No time/distance required. Charnge.
|
Maybe the official thought the white player had gathered the ball for a try? ;)
|
PC. Time & distance is not required since A3 had the ball.
|
Perfect description
Quote:
|
Quote:
PC. Ship it! And for anybody wanting to say that time/distance is required here....just please don't. |
100% charge.
|
Rule 4-23
ART. 5... Guarding a moving opponent without the ball: a. Time and distance are factors required to obtain initial legal position. b. The guard must give the opponent the time and/or distance to avoid contact. c. The distance need not be more than two strides. I wouldn't treat the player receiving the ball as "an opponent with the ball", as in Article 4... where time and distance are not factors. By the time he caught and gathered the ball he had no chance to do anything with it (dribble, shoot, pass, or just stop with it), as the defender was less than two steps away. Perhaps if the defender was within the offensive player's line of sight, then you can say the offensive player had enough of a chance to avoid contact. But since the offensive player was looking back and up at the pass, I would say without reservation that the defender was at fault for the contact. |
Quote:
He obviously had, so then he had the ball and time and distance are not factors. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
ART 1... A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball. The player is clearly not dribbling the ball at the time of contact, so would you say he is holding it? I wouldn't. Because when I read the dribbling part of the equation, "holding" tells me the player is standing still with the ball... which the player clearly isn't standing still with the ball. |
Quote:
Like it or not, a player with the ball, no matter how long they have had it, is expected to stop on a dime in this situation. |
Quote:
On the other hand, the defender had more than enough opportunity to set himself up in a way to avoid a collision. I know the rule book doesn't use fairness, but if I can interpret a rule in a such a way to make things fair... I will. PS... this is why I said what I did about the rule book being set-up to favor the defense. Calling a PC foul on the guy catching the ball is not fair at all. He had no chance to avoid the contact. That is, unless you say he shouldn't be allowed to catch that ball in the first place. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03am. |