![]()  | 
	
| 
	 | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
				
				Did I handle correctly ?
			 
			
			
			Working JV game with familiar partner.  The game is very close (Team A down by 1).   Team B shooting FT ,   A1 rebounds the ball in paint near FT line, Coach A calls timeout which I give (5 seconds left in game).  I point to the endline for throw-in,   my partner acknowleges my gesture and I go to table to report.   After reporting I go to table to check on T/O situation and remind them to watch me for starting the clock (table personnel reminded me at start of game they weren't the "normal" table people and were filling in).  
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	I go to both teams at first horn and indicate the throw in to be at the end line. Team A coach is very upset b/c he had drawn up the play for throw in just about 10 feet off of mid court. I look over and my partner is talking with a school official and hadn't moved to the end line (gym was about empty b/c of Varsity game in next town) so.................. the coach thought that was where the ball was to be for throw in. I explained to the coach that I had indicated the throw in spot but I would discuss with Team B coach. Team B coach had no problem moving it to where my partner was (he thought it was close to mid-court as well). Should I have moved the throw in to the appropriate area or handled it as I did ? My partner was very apologetic and said "lesson learned" but it really was not a fun situation. Refk  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			Is that something you make a habit of every timeout even at the Varisty level?  I've never thought to provide that unless they requested, although V coaches are prob more inclined to know to glance at the referee holding the ball.  Or is this just an end of game clarification you provide on an "important" inbound....?
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 | 
		
		
  | 
||||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
 I also let the coaches know on the first horn if A can "run the end line."  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			I was the new lead, and had indicated to my partner where throw-in was but I think he lost focus a bit.  I left out,  while discussing T/O situation with table that Team A assistant asked me where the ball would be for the throw in and I told him  
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	I feel that after experiencing this that it is my responsibility to ensure "everyone is on same page" and my partner is where he should be. RefK  | 
		
		
  | 
||||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
 Maybe I am reading it wrong. Around here, unless it is a really loud gym we do not tell an assistant on each team where the throw-in will take place as we have already announced that to our partner when the whistle is blown. It's not my fault if none of the 5 coaches on the bench are paying attention.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
				
				On a Similar Note...
			 
			
			
			Similar note, when an inbounder can run the endline coming out of a timeout I have had coaches request we adminster the inbound on the opposite side from where the new T had been prepared to give the ball.  I've always allowed it to happen and never heard any disputes, any reason to believe that is incorrect?
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 | 
		
		
  | 
||||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			It's happened twice and both times they had a player step out and threw across the end line before inbounding.  I guess it's just the way they drew it up on the bench and didn't trust the team to flip in the play in their minds haha.
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 | 
![]()  | 
	
	
| Bookmarks | 
		
  | 
	
		 | 
			 
			Similar Threads
		 | 
	||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post | 
| Did I handle this correctly? | w_sohl | Baseball | 13 | Sat May 15, 2010 06:55pm | 
| did i handle this correctly? | joereed | Football | 24 | Wed Oct 21, 2009 03:41pm | 
| Did I handle this situation correctly? | canadaump6 | Baseball | 18 | Wed Jun 18, 2008 08:38pm | 
| OOB, Did we handle this correctly | hoosierref | Basketball | 6 | Sat Jan 26, 2008 12:46pm | 
| Did I handle this situation correctly? | JollyJim | Softball | 15 | Fri Sep 08, 2006 11:45pm |