![]() |
|
|||
The player was dribbling, so he already had player control.
Now whether one considers the pin to be part of continuing the dribble, holding the ball, or no control at all would matter to making the decision. Remember that per an NFHS Case Play a player on the floor in control of the ball may not relinquish control by putting the ball on the floor next to him, get up, and then repossess the ball. A. A continued dribble clearly is not a travel as one of the fundamentals is that a player may not travel while dribbling. B. Deeming it holding the ball means not only that getting up is a travel, but that falling to the floor while holding it was already a travel. C. Control when down, then loss of control, then regain after rising is a travel based upon the Case Play. The only gray area is in judging if the player lost control BEFORE going to the floor. That would make the action legal. Part C is clearly the most confusing. I would go with B, and contend that this constitutes holding the ball in one hand. To me the dribble ended when the ball came to rest. The rule doesn't state any specific hand position is necessary to cause that. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Free Violation and Lane Violation Situation | habram | Basketball | 3 | Tue Dec 10, 2013 06:23pm |
No violation? | red | Basketball | 4 | Tue Feb 17, 2009 01:01am |
Backcourt violation - 3 second violation | Shades of Gray | Basketball | 15 | Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:38pm |
Throw-in violation or OOB violation? | Nevadaref | Basketball | 47 | Fri Nov 02, 2007 07:15pm |
Clever? or a violation ,trying 2 avoid a violation | hardwdref | Basketball | 3 | Sat Nov 13, 2004 04:17pm |