The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2014, 11:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm View Post
How long would you allow A1 to pin the ball to the floor from an inbound pass in the backcourt before you start your ten second count?
I'd start the ten count immediately. A still has team control in the backcourt (established when handed the ball for the throw in).
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2014, 11:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by westneat View Post
I'd start the ten count immediately. A still has team control in the backcourt (established when handed the ball for the throw in).
But in HS the count doesn't begin until a player has controlled the ball inbounds. (If A2 touches the ball on the throw-in pass and it bounds away for 10 seconds, it's not a violation.)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2014, 11:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
But in HS the count doesn't begin until a player has controlled the ball inbounds. (If A2 touches the ball on the throw-in pass and it bounds away for 10 seconds, it's not a violation.)
Can you give me a case play or rule citation to back up this assertion? All I've got is 9-8, which says :

"A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of a ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds."

That would suggest that the play you described is indeed a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2014, 11:30am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by westneat View Post
Can you give me a case play or rule citation to back up this assertion? All I've got is 9-8, which says :

"A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of a ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds."

That would suggest that the play you described is indeed a violation.
Only after PC has been established inbounds. 9-8 would apply if Team A had the ball in the front court and a pass was deflected into the back court. You would start your count immediately in that case.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2014, 11:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Only after PC has been established inbounds.
I can't find anything in the book to back this up. Can someone help me out?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2014, 11:39am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by westneat View Post
I can't find anything in the book to back this up. Can someone help me out?
It is a good question. I asked the same question here about 5-6 years ago.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2014, 11:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
It is a good question. I asked the same question here about 5-6 years ago.
You could refer to these:
2011-12 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 3: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her backcourt. The administering official reaches a four-second count when A1 passes the ball onto the court. A1’s pass to A2, who is also in Team A’s backcourt, takes several bounces and six seconds before A2 picks up and controls the ball. RULING: Legal. Even though a team is now in control during a throw-in, the 10-second rule specifically requires that a player/team be in continuous control in its backcourt for 10 seconds for a violation to occur. Technically speaking, the thrower-in is out of bounds and not located in the backcourt. (4-35-2; 9-8)

SITUATION 5: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2’s hand and goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt. RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2d; 9-9)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free Violation and Lane Violation Situation habram Basketball 3 Tue Dec 10, 2013 06:23pm
No violation? red Basketball 4 Tue Feb 17, 2009 01:01am
Backcourt violation - 3 second violation Shades of Gray Basketball 15 Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:38pm
Throw-in violation or OOB violation? Nevadaref Basketball 47 Fri Nov 02, 2007 07:15pm
Clever? or a violation ,trying 2 avoid a violation hardwdref Basketball 3 Sat Nov 13, 2004 04:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1