The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 19, 2013, 12:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I just want to know why the official was over at the monitor after the shot was waived of. If the clock started on 0.3, there really isn't anything to be reviewed. I don't think that reviewing whether a player caught the ball or tapped the ball is a reviewable decision.
It’s mandatory under both NCAA codes. Since they made a call on the court – the 3/10 ruling – in a game-ending situation that determined the outcome of the contest the monitor review rule kicked in. Yeah, I know, by rule it’s not a try because the 3/10s rule exists but the monitor part is on the books (NCAA 11-3-1a.1)
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 19, 2013, 12:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
It’s mandatory under both NCAA codes. Since they made a call on the court – the 3/10 ruling – in a game-ending situation that determined the outcome of the contest the monitor review rule kicked in. Yeah, I know, by rule it’s not a try because the 3/10s rule exists but the monitor part is on the books (NCAA 11-3-1a.1)
I know that. But isn't that review is to see if it was released before time expired. In this case, it can't be, by rule. The video can't change that. Are they allowed to change the ruling of catch vs. tap?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 19, 2013, 12:45am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Interesting enough...under NBA rules, they are not allowed to go to the monitor to review a made basket with .2 or .1 on the game or shot clock...even with a made basket with zero's on the clock being a replay trigger.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 19, 2013, 06:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I know that. But isn't that review is to see if it was released before time expired. In this case, it can't be, by rule. The video can't change that. Are they allowed to change the ruling of catch vs. tap?
Not that I'm aware of. I think it's just one of those editorial things that'll be cleared up. I can't remember a situation exactly like this in the few years monitor use has been mandatory on game-ending shots.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 19, 2013, 08:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 546
Just curious ... it seems to be the correct call, but isn't the call on the last second shot supposed to be the official opposite the table (either T or C)? Is it different under NCAA rules?

Maybe this is based on association/assignor preference rather than rule, but my understanding is that the L doesn't make the last second shot call (although all officials are expected to have an opinion on these plays in case it needs to be discussed).
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 19, 2013, 09:16am
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePaul View Post
Just curious ... it seems to be the correct call, but isn't the call on the last second shot supposed to be the official opposite the table (either T or C)? Is it different under NCAA rules?

Maybe this is based on association/assignor preference rather than rule, but my understanding is that the L doesn't make the last second shot call (although all officials are expected to have an opinion on these plays in case it needs to be discussed).
In a normal last-shot situation you would be correct. In this case however waving off the shot is not dependant on the judgement of the responsible official, but rather rules knowledge of all the officials. The Lead had the best look at what kind of shot FGCU was taking, and the "responsible" official may not have had the best look. Thus, I think it is fine for the Lead to wave off by rule.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 19, 2013, 10:23am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
In a normal last-shot situation you would be correct. In this case however waving off the shot is not dependant on the judgement of the responsible official, but rather rules knowledge of all the officials. The Lead had the best look at what kind of shot FGCU was taking, and the "responsible" official may not have had the best look. Thus, I think it is fine for the Lead to wave off by rule.
Exactly...it's possible they discussed this in pre-game or during the last time-out.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 19, 2013, 12:20pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Under NFHS rules any official can waive-off a shot, but only the center/trail official opposite the table can count it.

So in this case the lead official is well within his rights to waive-off the shot.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 19, 2013, 09:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,203
The crew also might change things depending on the specifics. So, for example, if there were .4 left -- the T might have it on a short-pass-long-shot play, the C between the circles and the L on a long-pass-short-shot play (as in the OP)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vid Request Florida v Florida St on Friday jeremy341a Basketball 2 Tue Dec 03, 2013 01:33pm
Gulf Coast Blue Skahtboi Softball 5 Mon Aug 30, 2004 10:24pm
Gulf Coast Blue's Rules Myths!!! Elaine "Lady Blue" Softball 14 Mon Aug 30, 2004 08:08pm
pay in Florida ? Glen G Softball 1 Sun Mar 07, 2004 09:46am
Gulf Coast Chapter or Beaumont Chapter SFOA Norman D Anderson Football 1 Mon Aug 20, 2001 11:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1