![]() |
|
|||
Correctable Error Case Play
A1 is fouled and entitled to two free throws. However, the officials indicate a one-and-one bonus situation. The first attempt is unsuccessful; B4 rebounds the ball and passes it up to B2. The error is discovered with B2 in possession of the live ball near mid-court.
RULING: The error is discovered within the correctable error timeframe, and shall be corrected. Team B securing the rebound and passing to a teammate constitutes no change in team possession. Therefore, A1 will receive the merited free throw with players in lane line spaces and play resumes from the free throw. (2-10-1a) I dont understand how this is not a change of possession....A is in control when the error is made and B is in control when the game is stopped??? Can someone explain this. I thought the way this error was handled was clear the lane let A shoot there second free throw give B the ball at the POI and proceed....How is Situation H Which I copied here not administered the same way Situation A is......these to plays seem to contradict themselves to me......is there a mistake in the casebook...... In 2.10.1 Situation H A1 is fouled prior to the bonus, but erroneously A1 is awarded a one-and-one. The error is discovered ![]() RULING: In (c), (d) and (e), the successful free throw(s) are canceled and play continues with a throw-in by Team B since B had the ball when the game was interrupted for correction. In (f), the successful free throw is canceled, charge A2’s foul and continue play with either a free throw (bonus) for B1 or throw-in for Team B. Last edited by phife23; Wed Nov 27, 2013 at 11:59am. |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Correctable Error appeal/Stop play during a live ball? | BayStateRef | Basketball | 16 | Tue Dec 18, 2012 04:28pm |
Marquette-St. John's Correctable Error Play | Marcusmav | Basketball | 7 | Thu Mar 12, 2009 10:31am |
New Correctable error casebook play 2.10.1 - NCAA treatment | CallMeMrRef | Basketball | 7 | Wed Feb 18, 2009 02:42pm |
Is NFHS Case Book Play 2.10.1 Sit. G(d) (re: corr. error situation) really an error? | rpirtle | Basketball | 3 | Wed Dec 24, 2008 03:25pm |
Another Correctable Error Play | Blackhawk357 | Basketball | 4 | Tue Feb 18, 2003 08:25pm |