![]() |
|
|
|||
On this note, I was working a scrimmage last Friday night. I was the Lead and administering the throw-in in the frontcourt on the endline. The thrower went to throw the ball to a teammate and it hit the bottom (From what I could tell) of the backboard and came down in bounds on the court, where one of the players on the court grabbed it. I wasn't going call a violation because it looked like it came straight down, leading me to believe that it hit the bottom of the backboard and not the back. It also landed in bounds. My partner comes in after a brief delay and says that it was a violation. At the next break I asked him about it and he said that when it hit, it angled back toward the endline so it must have hit the back of the backboard. I told him that it landed in bounds and from my angle it went straight down so I would have left it alone. We agreed to disagree and went on.
I remember people talking about this on here before. If it doesn't come straight down after hitting the backboard do you guys always assume it hit the back? |
|
|||
Quote:
Whether it went back is, of course, judgment. |
|
|||
The rule of thumb is to see where the ball goes. If the ball rebounds back out of bounds then the ball probably hit the back. If the ball goes down as in the OP the ball probably hit the bottom. If the ball hits the back it should be obvious to everyone -- otherwise just play on.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
It seems to me, that there are two choices . . . POI may be considered the throw-in by A, and thus we re-do the throw-in, or, we treat the scenario as the throw-in having been completed, (when the ball was touched by B) but with no team control having been established on the court, we may go to an AP throw-in. Presently, I favor the latter. But I'm willing to consider other opinions.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . . ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I agree, if the ball went directly from thrower-in A to the bottom of the backboard, but the scenario posed by BNR has the ball being deflected by B, and then hitting the bottom of the backboard. I understand that the throw-in ended when the ball was "deflected by B."
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . . ![]() |
|
|||
7.1.2 Situation A
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
4-4-5?
"A ball which touches the front faces or edges of the backboard is treated the same as touching the floor inbounds."
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Team Control on Throw In | Bishopcolle | Basketball | 7 | Wed Nov 23, 2011 04:23pm |
Team Control/Throw In After Made FG | JW100 | Basketball | 26 | Mon Feb 28, 2011 08:44am |
Team Control during Throw in | Remington | Basketball | 21 | Fri Feb 11, 2011 05:59pm |
Team control exception on throw ins | Buckley11 | Basketball | 18 | Fri Nov 04, 2005 08:47am |