![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
does it matter if it's a pass or dribble unless the player just caught the ball while in the air (from a pass or rebound), since you can't catch your own pass and you can't dribble if you got the ball before jumping.
if it was an alleyoop or rebound he probably can do start a dribble. Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Probably ??? Not ...
Not if he's already lifted his pivot foot for a try, or a pass (which is what this thread is all about).
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Oct 25, 2013 at 05:36am. |
|
|||
|
Well since the initial post did not state what happened before the player dropped the ball, whether he ended a dribble & jumped or he received the ball while airborne, i just though i took it into consideration on a 2nd case where no pivot has yet been established.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
1) if he dribbled already 2) did he pick up his pivot foot before releasing the ball
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
No, it wouldn't.
There is no rule about "catching your own pass." there is a rule about moving your pivot foot which is what USUALLY happens. But when it doesn't ... |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If that is correct, then you are right that once A1 touches the ball the play is illegal. But if it's (determined to be) a pass, then it's not illegal until it's touched by A1. If it's (determined to be) a dribble, then it *might* be illegal as soon as A1 begins the dribble. And, you *might* not be able to determine which it is until later (or maybe you can make such a determination). That's the focus of the discussion. Quote:
|
|
|||
|
assuming the player established a pivot before he jumped, the player can't dribble anymore because he already lifted his pivot before releasing the ball so it'd be a travel right?
unless he merely came into contact with the ball while on the floor & yet catch/secure the ball and only manage to do it while already airborne, this case he hasn't established a pivot until he has landed, so he can actually just hold the ball until he land or "drop" the ball as a mean to start a dribble. Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Tags |
| attempted shot, double dribble, loose ball, mythbusters |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Fouling airborne shooter when ball is dead... ? | PSidbury | Basketball | 20 | Wed Dec 01, 2010 07:39pm |
| Non-airborne shooter? | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 7 | Sat Dec 08, 2007 12:40pm |
| Shooter Unintentionally Drops the Ball | cshs81 | Basketball | 27 | Sun Dec 24, 2006 12:48pm |
| Airborne Passer vs Airborne Shooter | SDREGIIBB | Basketball | 8 | Mon Apr 11, 2005 04:33pm |
| Airborne shooter - Held ball | DownTownTonyBrown | Basketball | 31 | Wed Jan 22, 2003 01:37pm |