The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Jan 30, 2013, 10:51am
Official Forum Member

team fouls

Had a complete newby pulled out of the crowd to run the clock in last night's middle school game. To simplify his duties, team fouls were not required to be displayed on the scoreboard. It was kind of nice too, as at one point fouls were 10-1 against the team of a nasty, whiney, troll of a coach who lacked even basic coaching skills. Troll-coach was not constantly reminded of the foul-count by a scoreboard display, nor were his team's fans, so they were essentially disarmed on this point though the coach had access to the scorebook info.

To my question: We all know coaches use the foul count to attempt to put pressure on officials to even the count, to prove we are cheating, to incite the crowd, etc. Most of us could not give a rat's hind parts what the foul-count is. But it made me wonder if any of you have ever had a game where you instructed the table to NOT display the foul totals, or even during a game to quit displaying them. Yeah, I'm bored.
Old Wed Jan 30, 2013, 11:16am
Get away from me, Steve.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Whitten View Post
Had a complete newby pulled out of the crowd to run the clock in last night's middle school game. To simplify his duties, team fouls were not required to be displayed on the scoreboard. It was kind of nice too, as at one point fouls were 10-1 against the team of a nasty, whiney, troll of a coach who lacked even basic coaching skills. Troll-coach was not constantly reminded of the foul-count by a scoreboard display, nor were his team's fans, so they were essentially disarmed on this point though the coach had access to the scorebook info.