The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2013, 10:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by VaTerp View Post
Wow just realizing this was in the frontcourt.

I'd rather see the T whistle and stop play when the kid left the spot thanend up with the outcome you did.

At least that way you could have prevented your partner from completely screwing both of you.
Let's say this happened....as soon as the T saw the thrower move and realized the L wasn't blowing the whistle, T blows the whistle to kill the play.

At that point, after the officials realize the error, can you justify a do over? This assumes that the ball was not inbounded prior to the whistle.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2013, 10:25am
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
Let's say this happened....as soon as the T saw the thrower move and realized the L wasn't blowing the whistle, T blows the whistle to kill the play.

At that point, after the officials realize the error, can you justify a do over? This assumes that the ball was not inbounded prior to the whistle.
I can't imagine your scenario happening. As T, I'm not watching the thrower, I'm watching some of the other 8 or 9.

I CAN imagine seeing my partner signal "run the line" to the thrower, and I would stop him at that point and fix it.
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2013, 10:34am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
2-10-1

Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertently set aside and results in.....

e. Erroneously counting or canceling a score.

My question, since the error lead to counting a score, could this be used to correct the error? I am in the corner that says once the play happened it is probably not correctable, however maybe this application says otherwise.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2013, 10:58am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
2-10-1

Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertently set aside and results in.....

e. Erroneously counting or canceling a score.

My question, since the error lead to counting a score, could this be used to correct the error? I am in the corner that says once the play happened it is probably not correctable, however maybe this application says otherwise.
The officials didn't erroneously count a score. They failed to call a violation and the team scored afterwards. Same as if the kid had double-dribbled or travelled and we missed it.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2013, 01:10pm
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
The officials didn't erroneously count a score. They failed to call a violation and the team scored afterwards. Same as if the kid had double-dribbled or travelled and we missed it.
Not exactly the same: if you had TOLD him that he was allowed to travel before shooting and then "missed" it....

There's an issue with why anyone would believe an official who said you could run the end line in the FC, and this example brings that out. All the same, the official DID say that.
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2013, 11:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
2-10-1

Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertently set aside and results in.....

e. Erroneously counting or canceling a score.

My question, since the error lead to counting a score, could this be used to correct the error? I am in the corner that says once the play happened it is probably not correctable, however maybe this application says otherwise.
No, this does not fall under the CE guidelines. The error was the erroneous information relayed to the player by the official. And as has been already mentioned, if the thrower didn't move beyond the allowed three FT box, no violation occured. A lot of coaches think that players can't move at all.
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2013, 11:11am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by PG_Ref View Post
No, this does not fall under the CE guidelines. The error was the erroneous information relayed to the player by the official. And as has been already mentioned, if the thrower didn't move beyond the allowed three FT box, no violation occured. A lot of coaches think that players can't move at all.

I was just thinking of some way to justify the do over. I believe that they just have to go on and end the game.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2013, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
2-10-1

Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertently set aside and results in.....

e. Erroneously counting or canceling a score.

My question, since the error lead to counting a score, could this be used to correct the error? I am in the corner that says once the play happened it is probably not correctable, however maybe this application says otherwise.
This says you can fix it if someone counts a score that shouldn't be counted or vice versa... it doesn't mean you can correct any other error there may be so long as a score happens afterward.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2013, 10:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Earth- For Now
Posts: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
While I agree in general, I don't know how much communication (on this issue) you should need on a FC throw-in -- that's NEVER a time when a player is allowed to "run the endline."
Agreed. When I typed this response I did not realize it was a FC throw in. Poor reading comp on my part.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
Let's say this happened....as soon as the T saw the thrower move and realized the L wasn't blowing the whistle, T blows the whistle to kill the play.

At that point, after the officials realize the error, can you justify a do over? This assumes that the ball was not inbounded prior to the whistle.
If the T blows the whistle to kill the play when the inbounder and leaves the designated spot, he can then go to the lead with information. The L should then realize he erred in telling the player he had the endline and re-administer the throw in properly.

Still dicey but I'd much rather have to deal with a "do over" that doesn't involve time running off of the clock or taking away a scored basket.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ending Game bbsbvb83 Softball 58 Fri Jul 02, 2010 04:10pm
Another game ending sitch Blackhawk357 Basketball 10 Fri Jan 07, 2005 01:16pm
Game ending controversy... rynodawg Baseball 31 Sat Sep 25, 2004 02:33pm
Game ending interference blueump Baseball 1 Wed May 26, 2004 07:55am
Game Ending BooBoo whiskers_ump Softball 4 Fri May 02, 2003 12:14pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1