The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sat Sep 18, 2004, 07:25pm
Official Forum Member

First time poster, I'm a rookie ump and have been doing baseball and softball since February.

A situation happened today, and I would appreciate the correct ruling. I'm not sure which rule book this particular rec league uses, so i would also like to know if it could be interpreted differently based on that.

11/12 boys rec league;
visitors batting down 6-5; bases loaded 1 out; I am at the plate with one field partner.

wild pitch to the backstop, R3 takes off; F2 gets to the ball and throws towards F1 covering home. I could tell that the throw was probably going to be too late, BUT it hits the batter who had backed out of the box and was standing still between the catcher and pitcher. Like I said, they likely wouldn't have gotten him out, but they were attempting to make a play and it hit the batter before the runner reached home.

My ruling: I didn't signal safe or out, I immediately called dead ball and said that the runner was out due to interference. I then discussed it with my partner, and we both decided that the batter was out and sent the runners back. I explained to the irate coach that although he did leave the batters box, the batter needed to be aware of the situation and make more of an effort to not disrupt the play. When he got hit basically standing still, I felt forced to make the interference call. That team then went on to lose.

Upon reading the NFHS rules that I own, I am 99% sure on the interference call, but think that I called the wrong person out. NFHS seems to say that the runner is out on a play at home, and that the batter would be out if the play was at any other base. Is this correct?

Thanks for any help.
Old Sat Sep 18, 2004, 07:46pm
Official Forum Member