![]() |
Game ending err
2 man crew....3 seconds left in the game, team A down by one. Endline throw-in in As frontcourt. Spot throw in. Im trail. Partner tells kid he can run endline. He takes 3 steps to the left, hit A2 cutting in the lane who made the layup and horn sounds. A1 celebrating. B's coach irate since A moved on a spot throw in. I talk to partner who said " my bad, what do we do now?". B's coach says regardless of partners mistake its still a violation. A's coach says you cant tell my kid he can.run the endline and then penalize him when he does. Partner left it up to me to correct.
I waived off the basket, gave it back to A1 for a spot throwin and put time back.on the clock. They failed to score. Team B won. Was I right? Wrong? |
Referee error. Game over. There are no do-overs. He buys the pitcher of beer AND the wings.
|
Or, award 1 point and go to overtime. :D
|
Quote:
|
Wow. That's bad X 2.
Did you guys communicate with each other before the ball was put in play for the throw in? In my games we make a point to always communicate whether its a spot or the inbounder has the endline coming out of a timeout. Especially critical in a late game situation. But to answer you question, yes you were wrong. Don't know how you justified a "do-over." |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
What level was this? Obviously a big goof for the official, but you would think even a player might have recognized that he couldn't run the endline in the frontcourt.
|
Quote:
|
Wow just realizing this was in the frontcourt.
I'd rather see the T whistle and stop play when the kid left the spot thanend up with the outcome you did. At least that way you could have prevented your partner from completely screwing both of you. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Even with that, so many times at the start of that next quarter, "whose ball is it"? :cool: |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:15pm. |