![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
I beg to differ (and can be wrong). In both cases you have a shot at the wrong basket. Whether by confusion during the game or going the wrong way after the tip. Though most of the time it is after the tip that you will see the situation I presented.
|
|
|||
|
The officials erred in allowing the teams to line up and go the wrong way. The GT should score the basket, then turn the teams around and continue play. The crew screwed the pooch.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
|
Anybody ever see this happen in a D1 game before?
I find it embarrassing when we let teams go the wrong way in a jr. high game. I personally have never been involved when it happened at the start of any quarter.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Karl Hess reads the forum?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove Last edited by just another ref; Wed Jan 02, 2013 at 12:53am. |
|
|||
|
Karl Hess Post Game Statement
Posted on the UConn Men's Basketball website:
Official's Statement On Play At Beginning of Overtime Jan. 1, 2013 "Based on rule five, section one, article 3,[NCAA 5.1.3], when the official permits a team to go in the wrong direction, and the the error is discovered, all activity and time consumed is shall count as though the each team had gone in the proper direction. Play is then resumed with each team going in the proper direction. "The players went in the wrong direction (tonight). Because we* allowed that to happen, the only thing that was wrong is there was a goaltend on the play. We should have scored the goaltend and give Connecticut two points for that. "You have no team control after that, because you have a shot, so now you got to the alternating possession arrow. Because there is no team control at that point and then Marquette gets the ball and you head them all in the right direction." Karl Hess BIG EAST Official * Crew as listed in box score, Mike Stuart, Karl Hess, Michael Stephens Last edited by KJUmp; Wed Jan 02, 2013 at 10:19am. |
|
|||
|
Agreed with this, as I understand the play. NCHSAA (and the officials on the game, and Karl Hess in his statement) are wrong.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|