The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 02, 2013, 12:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
The officials erred in allowing the teams to line up and go the wrong way. The GT should score the basket, then turn the teams around and continue play. The crew screwed the pooch.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 02, 2013, 12:12am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Anybody ever see this happen in a D1 game before?

I find it embarrassing when we let teams go the wrong way in a jr. high game.
I personally have never been involved when it happened at the start of any quarter.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 02, 2013, 12:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 574
per twitter:

Andy Katz‏@ESPNAndyKatz

From MQ: BE official Karl Hess said officials responsible for wrong direction of players, UConn OT goal tend basket should have counted.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 02, 2013, 12:47am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by twocentsworth View Post
per twitter:

Andy Katz‏@ESPNAndyKatz

From MQ: BE official Karl Hess said officials responsible for wrong direction of players, UConn OT goal tend basket should have counted.
Karl Hess reads the forum?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove

Last edited by just another ref; Wed Jan 02, 2013 at 12:53am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 02, 2013, 06:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Karl Hess Post Game Statement

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Karl Hess reads the forum?
Posted on the UConn Men's Basketball website:

Official's Statement On Play At Beginning of Overtime
Jan. 1, 2013

"Based on rule five, section one, article 3,[NCAA 5.1.3], when the official permits a team to go in the wrong direction, and the the error is discovered, all activity and time consumed is shall count as though the each team had gone in the proper direction. Play is then resumed with each team going in the proper direction.

"The players went in the wrong direction (tonight). Because we* allowed that to happen, the only thing that was wrong is there was a goaltend on the play. We should have scored the goaltend and give Connecticut two points for that.

"You have no team control after that, because you have a shot, so now you got to the alternating possession arrow. Because there is no team control at that point and then Marquette gets the ball and you head them all in the right direction."

Karl Hess BIG EAST Official

* Crew as listed in box score, Mike Stuart, Karl Hess, Michael Stephens

Last edited by KJUmp; Wed Jan 02, 2013 at 10:19am.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 02, 2013, 07:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 10
Hess STILL Doesn't Know the Rule

Did I read his quote correctly? Alternating possession has NOTHING to do with why MU would get the ball!! UConn should have been allowed the score and then give MU the ball based on this event going in the right direction. MU would still have the arrow...DAMN MAN!!!

How can this guy officiate NOT knowing the rules???
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 02, 2013, 08:29am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
It looks to me like the new Lead on the play recognized that the players were going the wrong way. Look at where he is when he makes the GT call. It looks like he was coming out to stop play anyway. He made it to the end line, then starts walking out toward the Trail official. When the drive starts, he stops and officiates the play three steps onto the court.

If he'd just blown the whistle when he realized "something" was wrong. . .
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 02, 2013, 08:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
The officials erred in allowing the teams to line up and go the wrong way. The GT should score the basket, then turn the teams around and continue play. The crew screwed the pooch.
Agreed with this, as I understand the play. NCHSAA (and the officials on the game, and Karl Hess in his statement) are wrong.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1