![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Check NCAA 5-1-3 and NFHS 4-5-4, 5.2.1.E, & 5.2.1.F.
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired. Last edited by HawkeyeCubP; Tue Jan 01, 2013 at 11:19pm. Reason: Included rule references |
|
|||
I agree. The difference IMO is the situation that leads to the discovery. Which in this case is the "goaltend". You cannot have one at the wrong basket and you must correct the wrong direction based on that situation.
|
|
|||
The "situation that leads to the discovery" is irrelevant. The goaltending violation, along with everything else that happens prior to the discovery of the officials' error, is to stand, and be treated as though the teams were going in the proper directions.
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired. |
|
|||
NCHSAA read 4-5-4. After the GT is called the mistake was recognized. Count the basket and get everyone going the proper direction.
|
|
|||
Quote:
IW gives the ball back to the team with TC. |
|
|||
What is the difference then in the case book play where you have a foul and the ball goes in if going the wrong direection??? You still do not count the basket and you correct off of that.
You cannot disregard NCAA 4-73 (Page 64) |
|
|||
The team last in control is still in team control, because, by your logic in this play, there wasn't a try.
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired. |
|
|||
Quote:
If the officials lined them up in the wrong direction then UConn was shooting at the "right" basket as far as the violation is concerned. You are completely and illogically ignoring the fact that officials lined them up wrong. It's not the same as inadvertently shooting at the wrong basket. It's just that simple.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
First, the rule application for this scenario is the exact same in the HS and college games. Second, per NCAA: Rule 5. Section 1. Article 3. The amount of time the officials permit the players to go in the wrong directions is irrelevant. And invoking 4-73 is not relevant either, because the officials' error led the players to believe they were attempting tries at their own baskets.
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired. |
|
|||
Well, since you are quoting rules to back your stance where does it state that time is relevant to a ruling?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|