![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Wrong basket = not a try = no goaltend
|
|
|||
|
But the officials set them up going the wrong way off the tip! When that happens, you trat it as if they were going the right way and then get them going the right way once it is found out
__________________
"Some guys they just give up living, and start dying little by little, piece by piece. Some guys come home from work and wash-up, and they go Racing In The Street." - Springsteen, 1978 |
|
|||
|
Doing so would violate the definition of a "try" as quoted in a previous post. If there was no attemped goaltend and Marquette went the wrong way also and scored then yes you would correct as if they went the proper way. However, the attemped goaltend is the difference here.
|
|
|||
|
For any new guys!!
Given the situation as in the UConn/Marquette game where a player goes to the wrong basket. Here is a hypothetical situation that can happen:
A1 attempts a lay-up and is fouled. Upon the whistle and reporting of the foul the officials recognize that A1 attempted the shot at Team B's basket (the wrong basket). 1) How would you administer (shots, foul, etc) 2) Team A is in the bonus |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
I beg to differ (and can be wrong). In both cases you have a shot at the wrong basket. Whether by confusion during the game or going the wrong way after the tip. Though most of the time it is after the tip that you will see the situation I presented.
|
|
|||
|
The officials erred in allowing the teams to line up and go the wrong way. The GT should score the basket, then turn the teams around and continue play. The crew screwed the pooch.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired. |
|
|||
|
Treat it as if they went the proper direction, which is different than what happened in the game in question.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Check NCAA 5-1-3 and NFHS 4-5-4, 5.2.1.E, & 5.2.1.F.
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired. Last edited by HawkeyeCubP; Tue Jan 01, 2013 at 11:19pm. Reason: Included rule references |
|
|||
|
I agree. The difference IMO is the situation that leads to the discovery. Which in this case is the "goaltend". You cannot have one at the wrong basket and you must correct the wrong direction based on that situation.
|
|
|||
|
It is only the wrong basket if the teams were going the right directions. Since they started the OT going the wrong way, it was the correct basket until they turned them around.
Thus, it was a try and it was a GT.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|